Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Health & Medical Collection: About

The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource for researchers, students, faculty, and healthcare professionals.

Content

The products and content listed below make up the Health & Medical Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for specific sub-collections included in Health and Medical Collection for detailed information on searching those products.

  • An expanded content base including 3,600+ information sources.
  • Source types include:
    • Scholarly Journals
    • Trade Journals
    • Dissertations and Theses
    • Books
    • Magazines
    • Conference Papers and Proceedings
    • Reports
    • Trade Journals
    • Working Papers

Subjects

  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Pharmacology
  • Microbiology
  • Immunology
  • Parasitology
  • Pathology
  • Communicable diseases
  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Musculoskeletal diseases
  • Respiratory diseases
  • Hemic diseases
  • Lymphatic diseases
  • Digestive diseases
  • Urogenital diseases
  • Endocrine diseases
  • Nervous system
  • Psychiatry
  • Surgery
  • Gynegology
  • Obstetrics
  • Dermatology
  • Pediatrics
  • Geriatrics
  • Dentistry
  • Otolaryngology
  • Opthalmology

What is the Health & Medical Collection?

Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource for researchers, students, faculty, and healthcare professionals.  Health & Medical Collection combines the clinical research titles available in Medical Database with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. Health & Medical Collection provides in-depth international coverage from over 3.600 publications with over 3,000 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing. Over 2700 publishers contribute to Health & Medical Collection including Elsevier, Massachusetts Medical Society, Springer, Nature Publishing and Cambridge University Press.  Literature coverage of titles date back to 1969.

More about the Health & Medical Collection

The journals included in the Health & Medical Collection cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Titles include:

  • The Lancet
  • BMJ
  • The New England Journal of Medicine
  • Journal of the National Cancer Institute
  • Journal of Clinical Investigation
  • Canadian Medical Association. Journal; CMAJ
  • American Journal of Public Health

Health & Medical Collection is for:

  • Academic libraries – Resources for both the basic need and high-end requirements of medical, nursing, dental, pharmacy and other allied health students and biomedical researchers
  • Consortia – Resources for basic and high-end requirements of students and researchers within institutions in a consortium
  • Hospital libraries – Resources for healthcare professionals working in a hospital setting
  • Public libraries – General interest and reference materials including magazines and other non periodical content
  • Special libraries – Daily updates of content and wirefeeds that bring timely news from around the world

Please note that Health & Medical Collection is also a component of ProQuest Central and of Health Research Premium Collection.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is the Medical Database?

The Medical Database contains abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE® database, plus over 1,400 publications in full text essential to medical research.

The collection's international coverage with content dating back to 1980 provides a strong, stable foundation for any library wishing to build and expand its clinical and biomedical journal collection with content that covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: