Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA): About

A guide to all aspects of Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts including content, searching, and viewing results.

Subject Coverage

  • Anthropological Linguistics
  • Applied Linguistics
  • Descriptive Linguistics
  • Discourse Analysis / Text Linguistics
  • Hearing and Speech Physiology
  • Hearing - Pathological and Normal
  • History of Linguistics
  • Interpersonal Behavior and Communication
  • Language Classification
  • Language - Pathological and Normal
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Lexicography / Lexicology
  • Mental Retardation
  • Morphology
  • Nonverbal Communication
  • Orthography, Writing Systems
  • Philosophy of Language
  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Poetics / Literary Theory
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Psychometrics
  • Semantics
  • Semiotics
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Special Education
  • Syntax
  • Theory of Linguistics
  • Typology

Publication Types

  • Books
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Magazines
  • Other Sources
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Working Papers

What is Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)?

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 600 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations

More About LLBA

The database assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. It also allows researchers to perform comprehensive reviews with content dating back as far as 1973. LLBA includes a specialized linguistics thesaurus that facilitates precision searching for accurate, focused results.

One of LLBA’s greatest assets is its broad geographic scope. It includes titles from over 100 countries. Only 21% of the titles currently being indexed are published in North America. The majority, 56%, come from Western Europe, with 10% coming from Eastern Europe, 6% coming from Asia, the Middle East and Africa, 6% from South America and Latin America, and 1% from Australia and New Zealand.

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

ProQuest Platform Videos