Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer on TexQuest: About

Use this guide to access details about ProQuest SIRS Discoverer on TexShare, resource updates, links to logo material, links to widgets, links to training materials, and training requests.

Subjects

  • Arts
  • Health
  • History
  • Language Arts
  • Math
  • People
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Sports
  • Technology

Featured Collections

  • Animal Facts
  • Country Facts & Maps
  • Current Events
  • Nonfiction Books
  • Pro/Con Leading Issues
  • Science Fair Explorer

Icons

To save a copy of these icons in original file format, please right click and "Save Link As" or "Save Image As"

What is ProQuest SIRS Discoverer?

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer is a multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology.  All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000+ integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer supports differentiated instruction by providing Lexile scores, grade level reading , article read-aloud and language translation, age-appropriate article summaries, automatically generated citations, and a critical thinking skills tutor.  Teacher and student materials are aligned with curriculum subject areas, research topics and homework help. User-friendly special database features such as “Animal Facts” “Nonfiction Books,” “Country Facts,” “Pro/Con Leading Issues,” “Science Fair Explorer,” and “Spotlight of the Month,” to further support the curriculum, while engaging students as they identify content needed for research, homework and classwork.

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer offers supplemental curriculum and learning materials, including student activities, an educator's guide, middle- and elementary-level student workbooks, citation guidelines, research strategy worksheets, and more. Visit our Educator's Resources link to peruse the wealth of resources, materials, and bulletins available to students, teachers, and librarians.

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer has been recently redesigned with a fresh, new interface featuring easy-access to most-used content and features, logical subject tree hierarchy, age-appropriate search and filter capabilities, as well as streamlined result and article pages to help young learners connect with and comprehend content.  In addition, ProQuest SIRS Discoverer's new interface is adaptive.  The same interface and user access URL may be used on any sized screen or device for full flexibility.

Product Features & Tools

C O N T E N T

100% Full-Text | Editorial summaries  | Lexile reading levels | 2,100+ Sources | 40,000 high quality images, PDF images, and graphics | 500+ Full-text non-fiction books in original PDF format | 40,000+ Subjects hand-indexed to Library of Congress  | 9,000 Monitored educational weblinks | 3,000 Biographies | 3,000+ Current and historical maps | 400 Country, Province, and State facts | 300+ Editorial cartoons | 5,600+ Activities | Current events | World Alamanac for Kids | Dictionary and Thesaurus | Compton's by Britannica Encyclopedia

C U R R I C U L U M     T O O L S

Standards alignment (including U.S. State, U.S. National, and Canada) | Science Fair Explorer | Skills Discoverer | Leading Issues | Animal Facts | Visual Literacy activities | Non-Fiction books | Spotlight of the Month | Lexiles and editorially assigned reading levels | ReadSpeaker Text to Speech | Links to EasyBib | Language Translation | MLA & APA citation generator | Copy URL | Visual browse | Social bookmark and share | Graphic organizers | Automatic search terms | Email functions | NEW! Student workbooks | Share This! Blog

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer Search Widget

CLICK THE LINK BELOW TO GENERATE CODE FOR A PROQUEST SIRS DISCOVERER WIDGET, OR USE THE WIDGET BELOW TO SEARCH DIRECTLY.  (PLEASE NOTE THAT WIDGETS WILL ONLY WORK WHEN USED FROM WITHIN AN ALREADY AUTHENTICATED SITE.)

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer Widget

SIRS Discoverer


Contact for Training:  Gina Minks

Product Updates

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer has been specially designed to be compatible on all devices!  All you have to do is sign on!

Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills and Texas College and Career Readiness Standards

ProQuest SIRS Discoverer provides a live standards alignment search that incorporates all U.S. national standards, U.S. state standards, International Baccalaureate Standards, and Department of Defense standards.  Included are the "Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills" and "Texas College and Career Readiness Standards."  This search is tied directly to the Library of Congress subject indexing in ProQuest SIRS Discoverer to provide live up-to-date searches based upon key terms in any selected standards set.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

Publication Types

  • Books
  • Government Documents
  • Images
  • Interactives
  • Magazines
  • Multimedia
  • Newspapers
  • Primary Sources
  • Reference Books
  • Websites