Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Women's Wear Daily: About

Subject Coverage

  • Retail business
  • Fashion history
  • Popular culture
  • Gender studies
  • Marketing and advertising

Live Webinars & Recordings

ProQuest Platform Videos

What is Women's Wear Daily?

The Women’s Wear Daily Archive (WWD) preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.  This is a digital archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from its inception in 1910 to recent issues, reproduced in high-resolution images. Issues are scanned from cover to cover, encompassing each page, article, advertisement and cover, with searchable text and indexing.*

This database provides a wealth of information to researchers and students of fashion, marketing, and the retail business as well as supporting inquiry into women’s studies and twentieth-century material culture. The newspaper of record for the clothing industry, WWD has been called ‘the Wall Street Journal of the fashion world’ and ‘the Bible of fashion.’

WWD is daily record of the business of fashion and beauty.  It has a trade focus with business imagery, news coverage and commentary.  Users can also use this database to search for accessories, advertisements, beauty, business, correspondence, fashion, front pages, media, obituaries, retail and runway news.

* Our policy is to include every issue in full, from the first. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there are occasional small gaps (issues or pages). Page-level completeness is approximately 99.5%.

Women's Wear Daily homepage