Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection


Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available here below.


Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(deus ex machina)

Abstract search will reveal search terms only in the abstract of the record.
Accession Number / Document Number AN AN(356894)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID and the Accession number.
Anywhere   greek sculpture    

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.
Anywhere except full text ALL ALL(chihuly)  

ALL searches for keywords in the abstract, author, title, and all additional indexed fields, but not the full-text associated with the record.
Author AU AU(silberman robert)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.  Use the Look Up list to verify the various formats of the same name. 
Caption CAP CAP(figure) or CAP(horse)  

Used to find images/figures or specific words in the captions, such as 'horse'.
Cited Author CAU CAU(silberman)     

Searches for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Document Title CTI CTI(utopia)    

Search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Publication Date CYR CYR(October 2010)    

Searches for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Cited Publication Title CPUB CPUB(norton critical edition)   

Searches for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record. 
Company/Organization  ORG ORG(maasai)    

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. Look up list available.
Document Feature  DF DF(Chart)     

Searches for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustration, photograph, references or tables.
Document Text FT FT(arrowheads)    

Searches for keywords in the body of the article. 
Document Title TI TI(metallurgy)    

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Document Type DType DType(essay)   

Finds specific document types such as article, review, poem, biography…
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(00014788)     

Looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
Issue ISS ISS(8368)     

Searches the issue number of a resource. 
Language  LA LA(Spanish)       

Original language of the document. 
Location  LOC LOC(thailand)     

Specific geographic area or location.
Person  PER PER(cohen leonard)      

Finds articles mentioning a person.
Publication date PD PD(19871020)     

Specific publication date. 
Publication Title PUB PUB(academe)     

Specific publication or publications.
References REF REF(Barnett-Hart, Anna Katherine)       

Looks for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title). 
Section SEC SEC(books)  

Use to find particular sections of results such as Children's books, Picture books, Review, Editorial, etc.  
Source type SType STYPE(magazine)     

Finds specific source types such as books, magazines, scholarly journals or trade journals. 
Subject Heading(All) SU SU(abolition of slavery)  

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject.  Avoid using Exact.
Subject Headings MAINSUBJECT mainsubject.Exact("cubism")

MAINSUBJECT searches for specific subject terms from the ProQuest Thesaurus. Consult the Thesaurus alphabetically from the Look up list.
Volume VO VO(100)    

Volume of a resource. 

 

Look Ups and Browseable Indexes

The Art, Design & Architecture Collection offers six Look ups or browseable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a publication title--this is especially helpful since ADA has non-English content. Look ups are available for the following searchable fields: author, organization, location, person, publication, and subject For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table above. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.