Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Biological Science Collection: Searchable Fields

Thesaurus

Thesauri from various databases within the Biological Science Collection are used to index the subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the Biological Science Collection there are different subject types and in addition to the all-encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, location, person and product name. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Thesaurus List

The following thesauri are available for the database collection of the Biological Science Collection. Note that many thesauri are database-specific and may limit your search results to documents from those databases.

  • Life Sciences Thesaurus
  • MeSH 2019 Thesaurus
  • Pollution Thesaurus
  • ProQuest Thesaurus
  • Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary)

Look ups and browsable indexes

The Biological Science Collection offers six Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: authorclassification, company/organization, location, publication, and subject. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes may be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Search Field

Corresponding Field Code

Example

Abstract

AB

AB(food)

Accession number

AN

AN(1713554) - searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases, such as PsycINFO).

Author

AU

AU(smith)

Author Affiliation AF AF(Cornell)
Caption CAP CAP(flow)
Conference CF CR(infectious diseases)
Corporate Author CA CA(oceans and human health)
Classification CL CL(viral genetics)

Document feature

DF

DF(maps)

Document text

FT

FT(food)

Document title

TI

TI(food)

Document type

DTYPE

DTYPE(literature review)

Editor ED ED(laws)
Figure Type FIGT FIGT(table)
Identifier (keyword) IF IF("cell viability")

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(3-926608-58-7)

ISBN(3926608587) (hyphens optional)

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(10673881)
ISSN(1067-3881) (hyphens optional)

Issue

ISS

ISS(23)

Language

LA

LA(french)

Location as subject

LOC

LOC(france)

Person as subject

PER

PER(smith)

Publication date

PD

Year, month, day:
PD(YYYYMMDD) -> PD(19900504)

Year and month:
PD(nov and 1990)
PD(YYYYMM) -> PD(199011)

Year only:
PD(1990)

Publication year

YR

YR(2005)

Publication title

PUB

PUB(wall street journal)

Publisher PB PB(Elsevier)
Reference REF REF(Delnord)

Source type

STYPE

STYPE(newspapers)

Subjects

SU

SU(higher education)

Taxonomic Term TXTERM TXTERM(Peregrinus maidis)

Last update date

LUPD

LUPD(20110504)

Volume

VO

VO(85)