Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Early English Books Online (EEBO) on the ProQuest Platform



Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Accession/
Bibliographic Number
 
AN

BIBNO
BIBNO(LN 356)

alphanumeric entry used in STCI and Wing – see the Abbreviations references in the Additional Resources box to view complete references to abbreviations in the bibliographic name/number field
Alternate Title OTI OTI(Epistul*)

Generally taken from the library catalogue, and might include short titles, translated titles and uniform titles, e.g.: Epistolæ astronomicæ.
Author AU AU(thomas more)       AU(more, thomas)

The Author field covers names of authors, editors, publishers, companies and performers. Personal names can be entered either forename followed by surname or surname, forename. Author names are standardized by using the Library of Congress name form as an authority form.

In the Legacy version, the Author field included also attributed authors. If a text was ever attributed to an author, even if that was later shown to be incorrect, the name went into the ‘Other authors’ field, which got searched with actual ones.  The ProQuest version is stricter with what AU searches and does not include this ‘Other authors’ section. This information is searchable with the field EAU (see below)

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line and the list in Browse can be used to browse and select names from the index. When selecting from a list of names, the names of people are listed in the format: surname, forename. 
Author (All) EAU EAU(Sandys, George)

EAU searches any primary or attributed author or other contributor role - such as translator, editor, compiler, engraver, publisher, company and performer.
Names may be entered in alternative formats, as for Author above.
Country of Publication CP CP(England)

Search records by the country in which the work in question was printed/published. See list of covered countries in the box on the left.

The list in Browse can be used to browse and select countries from the index.
Document Feature  DF DF.exact("Genealogical table")

Document Feature search allows users to find documents that contain examples of 14 different kinds of special feature. e.g. Coat of arms; Portrait – value add indexing added by ProQuest as part of the digitization.
See the Document Features definitions list in the Additional Resources box for a full list of the terms and their definitions.
The Document Feature box in Advanced Search can be used to browse and select definitions from the list.
Document Notes NT NT(8vo)

This field contains miscellaneous information. It mostly points out details specific to the copy in question (torn pages, fingerprints, wear and tear, anomalies or eccentricities in its presentation). It also might occasionally include some provenance information or detailed Incipit and Explicit information.  It also includes Physical description (8vo or Octavo) and Pagination.

(Incipit and Explicit – medieval manuscripts usually began with the word “Incipit” (“Here begins…”), often in rubricated text. So too did the beginning of each chapter or division contained within that manuscript. Similarly, these manuscripts and their constituent chapter endings would finish with the word “Explicit” (“Here ends…”). Some early modern texts continued this tradition, and use of these terms also found its way into library annotation).
Document Text FT FT(beauty)

The full text of around 80% of the books is searchable thanks to the TCP project.
This field includes several subsections which are searchable separately. See the separate table below for a list of fields and related sample searches.
Document Title TI  TI(Fragmenta)

The title is transcribed directly from the title page of the print volume, e.g. Deliciæ Parnassi, seu, Fragmenta poetarum, pasquinatæ ingeniosa ac comica ilustrium virorum poemata, cum notis, seu explicationibus collecta & in hanc formam Redacta / studio ac labore T.R.T.B.

This is supplemented by the Alternative Title field.
Document Type DTYPE  DTYPE(BOOK)          DTYPE(ISSUE)

 There are two types in this field: Book; Issue (this last corresponds to Historical periodicals in Source Type)
Language  LA LA(LATIN)

ProQuest adds this information where it’s not present in the library catalogue record.

The Language box in Advanced Search and the list in Browse can be used to browse and select languages from the index.
Location as subject LOC LOC(Venice)

Search for a specific geographic area or location, which is the topic of the text.
Place of Publication PUBCITY PUBCITY(London)

Use Place of publication to retrieve documents published from a specific location, typically a city.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names from the index.
Publisher PB PB(robert barker)

Use Printer/publisher name to retrieve documents published by a specific printer or publisher.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names from the index.
Publication Title PUB PUB(mercurius)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications of the Historical Periodicals source type.
You can also browse and search the Periodicals in the Publications section.
Publication Year PY

YR
PY(1457)     YR(1664-1699)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years.

Early English Books Online limits itself to providing facsimile images of items printed before 1701. See more details on the Time coverage in the Date Coverage in EEBO box.   The list in Browse can be used to browse and select years or decades from the index.
Source Library SIN SIN(Norwich)

See the list of the current contributing libraries in the Additional Resources box.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names of the Source Libraries from the index.
Source Type STYPE Stype(books)     stype(historical periodicals)

There are two types with this field: Books, Historical periodicals.
Subject Headings (All) MAINSUBJECT Mainsubject.Exact("art auctions")

The 'subject' search enables researchers to select from the full Library of Congress subject headings.
The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select terms from the index.
Subject SU SU(ART)

The subject field will encompass search in the Mainsubject and USTC subject classification fields
USTC subject classification USTC USTC.Exact("Art and architecture")

The Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. USTC subject classifications have been added to Early English Books Online records, adding a further searchable component to the collection.

There are 38 subject categories. These are a standardized version of the USTC classification scheme. See the detailed description of each term in the Additional Resources box.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select terms from the index.

Document Text Subsections

Field name Field label Definition EXAMPLE
Advertisement ADVT A notice or announcement promoting a product, a future event or publication, etc. ADVT(Books Sold by J. Conyers)
Argument ARG The main statement of a text, usually appearing as an introduction to that text. ARG(Lutherus Redivivus)
Byline BYL A line in a periodical naming the author of an article. BYL(wylham Caxton)
Cast List CAL A list of the characters in a play or story. CAL(Simo, An old rich Merchant of Athens)
Catalogue CTG A systematic list of items, usually of the same type or grouping. CTG(A List of his Majesties Ships)
Colophon CPN A publisher's emblem or imprint, usually found on the title page of a book. CPN(Printed by W. O. and sold by the Book sellers.)
Dateline DLN A line in the text indicating the date of publication. DLN(July 21. 1683.)
Dedication DED A statement that indicates in whose honour something has been written. DED(Lady Mary Edgerton)
Epigraph EPI A brief quotation or saying presented at the beginning of a book or chapter, usually intended to be suggestive of its theme or sentiment. EPI(THis is another rendring of a reason why the Israelites are so grie∣uously punished by God)
Imprimatur IPR A declaration authorizing publication of a book. IPR(IMPRIMATUR.)
Letter LET Indicates a text presented in the form of a letter. LET(The Brief Enquiry)
License LICS An official notice authorizing publication. LICS(Die Sabbath. 22. Mar.)
Notes FTNT Usually brief supplement related to but separate from main body of text. FTNT(Thomas More)
Poem POEM A composition in verse form. POEM(What light)
Postscript POS Self-standing block of text sometimes added with a heading and intended to express an afterthought or final statement, particularly in letters. POS(Discourse of the Trinity)
Prayer PRA Indicates the inclusion of a prayer, a solemn request or expression of thanks addressed to God. PRA(Caintic le SACHARIAS a S. Lucais)
Psalm PSA A sacred song or hymn, in particular any of those found in the biblical Book of Psalms and used in Christian and Jewish worship. PSA(PSALM. I. S a deagh dhuine)
Quotation QUO A citation from another text incorporated into a work or publication. QUO(Ave Maria, Gratia Plena)
Recipe RCP A set of instructions for preparing a particular dish. RCP(Turky Fowles)
Salutation SAL A standard formula of words used to address a person. SAL(Dear SIR)
Sermon SER The transcript of a talk on a religious or moral subject, especially one originally delivered during a church service and based on a passage from the Bible. SER(Mr James Rew)
Signature SIG The name of a person written in his or her own hand and included as part of a printed text. SIG(Maria Det Gratia)
Song SONG A short poem or set of words set to music and intended to be sung. SONG(AS Vesta was, from Latmos hill descending)
Speaker SPE Indicates the name of person or persons speaking in a text. SPE(Ioiada)
Stage direction STG A component of a play text providing instruction on how a performance is to be presented or performed. STG(Enter Decius Magius)
Table OOSU A set of facts or figures systematically displayed, usually in columns. OOSU(Resolution.)
Table of Contents TOC A list of the chapters or sections given at the front of a book or periodical. TOC(Septuagint)
Title Page TPG A page at the beginning of a book presenting title and author names, and usually also featuring the name of the publisher, the place and year of publication. TPG(A BOOK OF COOKRYE)
To the reader TTR Type of prefatory address. TTR(TO THE READER.)
Trailer TRA Line in text indicating the end of a part, chapter or book, etc. TRA(Finis, Actus Tertij.)