Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Engineering Collection

Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.

[Add Searchable fields Excel file here]


 

Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(child welfare worker)

The abstract provided by the journal is reproduced with little or no modifications. If no abstract is provided, one is created by the ProQues editorial team, drawing on the article’s text and concepts.  Abstracts are available from 1987.
Accession Number AN AN(356894)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.
All Fields (no full text) ALL ALL(credit default swaps)     

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.
Application Data PA PA(11/690416)     

Search patent application information fields (application country, patent assignee, application date & application number)
Assignee AP AP(Xerox)     

Search patent assignee/patent inventor
Author AU AU(Mossberg Walt)     

Finds documents written by a particular author. Use the Look Up list to verify the various formats of the same name. 
Author Affiliation AF AF(Oxford)     

Searches for the author's institution (university, company, organization)
Caption CAP CAP(pesticide poisoning symptoms)    

Explanatory text about published images. 
Classification CL CL(conservation)    

Classification codes and descriptions are broad subject headings that are specific to various databases. Classification codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, geographical ares, or article type.
Company/Organization  ORG ORG(Ford)      

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. 
Conference CF CF(International Immunonutrition Workshop)      

Provides the name of the conference and where and when it occurred. All these words are searchable, but for faster retrieval, ignore common words such as "annual" or "meeting" and search for the distinctive elements only.
Corporate Author CA CA(Smithsonian Institution)     

Searches for corporate/institutional name, country, city.
Document Text FT FT(Mortgage backed securities)    

Searches for keywords in the body of the article. 
Document Title TI TI(BRIC)    

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Editor ED ED(WCA)   

Either a book general author, book editory name, journal editor name.
Figure/Table Type FIGT FIGT(illustration)   

Graph, illustration, photograph, map
Identifier (Keyword) IF IF(microbial)   

Search the researchers' identifiers or keywords.
International Standard Book Number ISBN ISBN(9780549687191)      

Looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(00014788)     

Looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
Location  LOC LOC(Austin)     

Specific geographic area or location.
Material ML ML(90Cu-10Zn)     

The field that contains either specific manufacturer's designations or trade names of alloys or alloy compositions discussed in the document. All entried in this field are assigned materials classifications (MC).
Material Classification MC MC(bronzes)     

Use to search for alloys by name or code.
Notes NT NT(erratum)   

Searches supplemental data such as an erratum.
Original Title OTI OTI(Biogene Amine)      

This is where a foreign-language title might be displayed, if the article included both an English
Other Numbers NU NU(52)      

This is a field used to indicate numbers such as a catalog number of a monograph.
Patent Information PAT PAT(H001718)      

Searches patent application number, country, assignee, application date, publication date, publication number, and priority data.
Publication Title PUB PUB(financial times)     

Specific publication or publications.
Publisher PB PB(Cambridge University Press)     

Use quotation marks for more precise results.
Report Number RP RP(2002-01-1000)        
Subject Heading(All) SU SU(Accounts)  

Look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “accounts,” will find articles with the subject accounts, health savings accounts or checking accounts. To run an exact subject search where only “accounts” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.       

SU.EXACT(accounts)
Summary Language SL SL(English)     

Used to search the summary language in a specific language.
Tags TAG TAG(permaculture)    

Use to search for tqgs attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches tags that were made public by ProQuest users.