Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Historical Primary Sources: North America - U.S. Midwest

Historical Primary Sources is a collection of ProQuest databases containing primary source content from newspapers, magazines, books, manuscripts, U.S. and UK Government Documents, and more. This rich collection has been assembled specifically for researchers and students at smaller institutions in this region.

Databases for North America - U.S. Midwest

Includes: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin

U.K. Government

U.S. Government

  • Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824-2003 [Search] [Guide]
  • Congressional Research Digital Collection, 1830-2003 [Search] [Guide]
  • US Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-1969 [Search] [Guide]
  • Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1932 [Search] [Guide]
  • Historical Statistical Abstracts, 1878-2012 [Search] [Guide]
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) [Search] [Guide]

History Primary Sources

Early English Books

  • Early English Books Online [Search] [Guide] including TCP [Guide]

Periodicals and Magazines [Search]

Historical Newspapers - International Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Chinese Newspapers (1832-1953) [Search]
  • The Globe and Mail (1844-2013) [Search]
  • The Guardian (1821-2003) [Search]
  • The Irish Times (1859-2015) [Search]
  • Jerusalem Post (1932-2008) [Search]
  • South China Morning Post (1903-1998) [Search]
  • The Korea Times (1956-2016) [Search]
  • The Observer (1791-2003) [Search]
  • The Scotsman (1817-1950) [Search]
  • Times of India (19838-2008) [Search]
  • Toronto Star (1894-2015) [Search]
  • Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) [Search]
  • Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) [Search]
  • Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) [Search]
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) [Search]
  • Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003) [Search]
  • The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) [Search]
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - Jewish Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • America Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) [Search]
  • The American Israelite (1854-2000) [Search]
  • The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) [Search]
  • Jewish Exponent (1887-1990) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - U.S. Regional Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • The Arizona Republican (1890-1922) [Search]
  • Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) [Search]
  • Austin American Statesman (1871-1978) [Search]
  • The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991) [Search]
  • The Boston Globe (1872-1985) [Search]
  • Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004) [Search]
  • Hartford Courant (1764-1991) [Search]
  • Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922) [Search]
  • New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) [Search]
  • Newsday (1940-1989) [Search]
  • Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001) [Search]
  • Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003) [Search]
  • San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) [Search]
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) [Search]
  • ProQuest Civil War Era Newspapers (1840-1865) [Search] [Guide]