Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources


Primary sources are vital for advanced scholarship in many disciplines. They are also increasingly used in undergraduate classes to develop critical thinking and interdisciplinary understanding. Over decades, ProQuest has developed unique relationships with museums, specialty archives and other content providers around the world to offer unparalleled primary source collections – some available digitally only from ProQuest – that engage, inspire and inform researchers at every level.

ProQuest provides a variety of ways for libraries to add Primary Sources to their holdings.  For more information please navigate to the Content Page.   

Primary Sources reside on the following platforms.  For more information on the platforms please visit the following Libguides:

Primary Sources Videos

 

This video will differentiate between primary and secondary sources in Alexander Street collections and demonstrate how to select relevant content to use in assignments in global history, international politics and subjects that require a combination of primary and secondary sources. Duration: 4 minutes

Webinar Recordings

 

Duration time for all these sessions is 30 minutes.


This session will concentrate on Iranian history and investigate the events leading to the 1979 Iranian Revolution. You will learn searching strategies as well as how to leverage the features on the platform to support your search of primary resources.  This webinar features content from the Digital National Security Archives (DNSA).

Join us for a deep dive into ProQuest Primary Source periodical resources. This session will delve into how birth control has been used and discussed in periodicals since the early 20th century.  Primary Sources used for this webinar include: Periodical Archives Online, Periodical Index Online, the Vogue Archive, and Women's Magazine Archive.

Timed for Pride Month, this session will concentrate on Section 28 and its significance in the struggle for LGBTQ+ rights in the UK, where we will look at the legislation itself as well as some of the academic and primary source documents we can find within a variety of ProQuest products.  Resources covered in this session: United Kingdom Parliamentary Papers, LGBT Magazine Archive, and various LGBT resources on ProQuest and Alexander Street platforms.

In this session we explore the story behind the ‘Reclaim the Night’ movement that begun in 1977 in the UK as a response to the Yorkshire ‘Ripper’ murders. This webinar explores News content on the ProQuest platform.

This session will concentrate on the Second Vatican Council in the 1960s and look at some of the wide-reaching changes to the Catholic Church that were made as a result of this Council. We will use this topic to explore the resources available on our Alexander Street Platform.  Resources covered in this session: Twentieth Century Religious Thought.

This session concentrates on Sally Hemings, once an enslaved woman owned by Thomas Jefferson, and uses Black Historical newspapers to investigate her story.

This session will focus on relations between police and the Black community in the UK, through the lens of such events as the 1981 riots in Brixton, Toxteth and other cities, and more recent pivotal events and their aftermath.  Primary Sources used for this webinar include: ProQuest Historical Newspapers, UK Parliamentary Papers, as well as some unique secondary sources such as dissertations and video.

This session will concentrate on Women in Social Movements. Primary Sources used for this webinar include: Women and Social Movements.

This session will concentrate on plagues as can be found in early modern books from several centuries ago. We will use this topic to explore the resources available in Early English Books. Primary Sources used for this webinar include: Early English Books Online and Early European Books.

This session will concentrate on the Global Issues Library on the Alexander Street Platform. We will take a look at its constituting collections, which are Human Rights Studies Online, Border and Migration Studies Online, Revolution and Protest Online, Environmental Issues Online, Security Issues Online, Engineering Case Studies Online and Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies. Primary Sources used for this webinar include: the collections within Global Issues Library.

This session will concentrate on the history of the Indian Cinema and look at some of the milestones it reached in the 20th Century. We will use this topic to explore the resources available on our The Times of India Archive. Resources covered in this session: ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The Times of India Archive.

This session will delve into United Kingdom Parliamentary Papers, and illustrate search strategies to find resources related to colonial history, specifically to do with the Atlantic Charter and decolonisation of Ghana. Primary Sources used for this webinar include: all collections available in United Kingdom Parliamentary Papers.

This session will concentrate on ProQuest History Vault. You will learn searching strategies as well as how to leverage the features on the platform to support your search of primary resources. Resources covered in this session: various modules in History Vault.