Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Primary Sources Access-Foundation: North America - U.S. South Central

Primary Sources Access-Foundation is a collection of ProQuest databases containing primary source content from newspapers, magazines, books, manuscripts, U.S. and UK Government Documents, and more. This rich collection has been assembled specifically for researchers and students at smaller institutions in this region.

Databases for North America - U.S. South Central

Includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

U.K. Government

U.S. Government

  • Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824-2003 [Search] [Guide]
  • Congressional Research Digital Collection, 1830-2003 [Search] [Guide]
  • US Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-1969 [Search] [Guide]
  • Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939 [Search] [Guide]
  • Historical Statistical Abstracts, 1878-2012 [Search] [Guide]
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) [Search] [Guide]

History Primary Sources

History Vault [Search]

American Indians and the American West

  • American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 [Search] [Guide]

American Politics and Society

  • American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960 -1975 [Search] [Guide]
  • Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 [Search] [Guide]
  • Thomas A. Edison Papers [Search] [Guide]

Black Freedom Struggle

  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records [Search] [Guide]
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement [Search] [Guide]
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1 [Search] [Guide]
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2 [Search] [Guide]

NAACP Papers

  • NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files [Search] [Guide]
  • NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files [Search] [Guide]
  • NAACP Papers: Special Subjects  [Search] [Guide]
  • NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces [Search] [Guide]
  • NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files [Search] [Guide]
  • NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses [Search] [Guide]

International Relations

  • Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy [Search] [Guide]

Women's Studies Modules

  • Struggle for Women’s Rights, 1880-1990: Organizational Records [Search] [Guide]
  • Women at Work During WWII:  Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps [Search] [Guide]

Workers & Labor Unions

  • Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century [Search] [Guide]

Early English Books

  • Early English Books Online [Search] [Guide] including TCP [Guide]

Periodicals and Magazines [Search]

Alexander Street
  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries [Search]
  • American Film Scripts [Search]
  • American Newsreels in Video [Search]
  • Black Thought and Culture [Search]
  • British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries [Search]
  • Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts [Search]
  • Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation [Search]
  • Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement [Search] [Guide]
  • Early Encounters in North America [Search] [Guide]
  • Food Studies Online [Search] [Guide]
  • The Gilded Age [Search]
  • Human Rights Studies Online [Search] [Guide]
  • LGBT Thought and Culture [Search][Guide]
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories [Search]
  • North American Indian Thought and Culture [Search] [Guide]
  • North American Women’s Letters and Diaries [Search]
  • The Sixties, The: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 - [Search Text] and [Search Video Content]
  • Social Theory [Search]
  • Twentieth Century Advice Literature [Search]
  • Twentieth Century North American Drama [Search]
  • Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 [Search] [Guide]

Historical Newspapers - International Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Chinese Newspapers (1832-1953) [Search]
  • Jerusalem Post (1932-2008) [Search]
  • South China Morning Post (1903-1998) [Search]
  • The Globe and Mail (1844-2013) [Search]
  • The Guardian (1821-2003) [Search]
  • The Observer (1791-2003) [Search]
  • The Irish Times (1859-2015) [Search]
  • The Scotsman (1817-1950) [Search]
  • Times of India (19838-2008) [Search]
  • Toronto Star (1894-2015) [Search]
  • Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) [Search]
  • Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) [Search]
  • Chicago Defender (1910-1975) [Search]
  • Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991) [Search]
  • Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) [Search]
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) [Search]
  • Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003) [Search]
  • The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) [Search]
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - Jewish Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • America Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) [Search]
  • The American Israelite (1854-2000) [Search]
  • The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) [Search]
  • Jewish Exponent (1887-1990) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - U.S. Regional Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) [Search]
  • The Boston Globe (1872-1985) [Search]
  • The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922) [Search]
  • Dayton Daily News (1898-1922) [Search]
  • Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) [Search]
  • The Indianapolis Star (1903-1922) [Search]
  • Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-1922) [Search]
  • Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922) [Search]
  • New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) [Search]
  • Newsday (1940-1989) [Search]
  • San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) [Search]
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) [Search]
  • ProQuest Civil War Era Newspapers (1840-1865) [Search] [Guide]