U.S. Military Intelligence Reports offer comprehensive documentation of developments and events in the key nations of the world during the period from World War I to the final campaigns of World War II. After World War I, the U.S. military developed a sophisticated intelligence gathering capability. Concerned with much more than strictly military intelligence, American military attaches and their staffs reported on a wide range of topics, including the internal politics, social and economic conditions, and foreign affairs of the countries in which they were stationed. This module contains the U.S. Military Intelligence reports for China, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Argentina, Mexico, Soviet Union, Biweekly Intelligence Summaries, and Combat Estimates.
Content Types: books, embassy cables to the U.S. Department of State, interviews with military and government officials, maps, opinion surveys, standardized reports, treaties, and more.
Subjects: Argentina, aviation, Buenos Aires Peace Conference, China, civil unrest, Cuba, diplomatic affairs, elections, espionage, fascism, foreign relations, France, Germany, labor, Mexico, military organization, propaganda, Nazism, Russia, Second Sino-Japanese War, World War II, and more.
Keyword Search Examples: Battle of Britain, Benito Mussolini, Bolshevism, communism, Confederation of Mexican Workers, Free Germany Movement, Leon Trotsky, Manchurian Incident, Mexican Revolutionary Party, Passive Defense policy, Red Army, Soviet Communist Party, Supreme War Council, Vladimir Lenin, Winter War, Xinhai Revolution.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Argentina, 1918-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Argentina, 1918-1941 consists of a large number of documents prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on political, governmental, military, population, and economic developments in Argentina. Collection documents focus on political conditions in Argentina, including radical movements on both the left and right, civil unrest, labor unrest, elections, foreign relations, military organization and armaments, and Nazi activities in the country.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Bi-Weekly Intelligence Summaries, 1928-1938
Biweekly Intelligence Summaries, 1928-1938 consists of condensed versions of the most important reports received by the Military Intelligence Division on the events that shaped the interwar years. The division wrote numerous reports on a wide range of topics relating to the military affairs, internal politics, and foreign policy of key nations of the world. The Biweekly Intelligence Summaries produced by MID were meant for wide distribution within the War Department and other federal agencies. The purpose of these reports was to keep top officials of the national defense establishment abreast of major current events and trends worldwide that may have an impact on U.S. national security.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: China, 1911-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: China, 1911-1941 contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on military, political, and economic developments in China from 1911 through 1941, especially as they relate to revolutionary movements, the Chinese Civil War, and the China-Japan war. Largely as a result of lessons learned in World War I, the U.S. military during the interwar period developed a sophisticated intelligence gathering capability. In addition to military matters such as force strength, buildups and deployments of troops, and operational readiness, American military attaches and their staffs reported on a wide range of topics, including the internal politics, economic circumstances, diplomatic affairs, press and propaganda machinery, social conditions and unrest, and foreign affairs of the countries in which they were stationed, as well as the rise and fall of the major political and military figures of the day. The intelligence reports in this collection include interviews with military and government officials, evaluations of political parties and revolutionary movements, and eyewitness coverage and analyses of military action.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Combat Estimates, Europe, 1920-1943
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Combat Estimates, Europe, 1920-1943 is a significant set of reports written by United States military attaches in the G-2 Branch of the Army on the particular country where they were stationed. These reports, which were written periodically, provide a summary of the defense establishment for each country.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Combat Estimates, Western Hemisphere, 1920-1943
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Combat Estimates, The Western Hemisphere, 1920-1943 is a significant set of reports written by United States military attaches in the G-2 Branch of the Army on the military affairs of the country where they were stationed. These reports, which were written periodically, give a summary of the defense establishment for each country. Included in these reports is information on the political and governmental structure of the military; organization of the army, air force, and navy; types and number of weapons; location of major troop units; training and promotion of military personnel; recent combat experience and performance; and military geography of the country. These reports give the researcher a quick and concise view of the development of the defense organizations in the countries of North, Central, and South America between 1920 and 1943. Of special interest is the fact that these reports were written from the viewpoint of United States Army representatives, who were evaluating the countries as either potential allies or adversaries.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: France, 1919-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: France, 1919-1941 contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on political, military, and economic developments in France during the interwar period. A large portion of the collection documents concern conditions in the aftermath of World War I and relations with Germany between 1919 and 1941.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Germany, 1919-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Germany, 1919-1941 contains a large amount of material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on significant political, military, and economic developments in Germany during the interwar period and continuing to late 1940, with a few later documents up to July 1941. The emphasis is on both the difficult economic and political period following World War I and the rise of Adolf Hitler and the Nazis, leading into the early invasions of World War II. Some of the major themes of collection documents are the aftermath of the Treaty of Versailles, other treaties and agreements, military occupation of Germany, economic crisis of the postwar years, anti-Semitism, Nazi and Communist parties in Germany, and Hitler's ascension in March 1933. The collection includes a large amount of material on Germany during the tenure of the Weimar Republic.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Germany, 1941-1944, Part 1: Geography, Population and Social Conditions, Politics and Government, Economy, and Finance
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Germany, 1941-1944, Part I: Geography, Population and Social Conditions, Politics and Government, Economy, and Finance contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on German internal political affairs, relations with Axis and neutral countries, and the social and economic impact of World War II on Germany. Containing both raw and analyzed intelligence in the form of notes, memos, letters, interview transcripts, cables, and finished reports, the collection includes material from the Military Intelligence Division itself, as well as from the FBI, the Bureau of Economic Warfare, the operational commands of the U.S. military services, and other sources.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Germany, 1941-1944, Part 2: National Defense, Army, Navy, and Military Aviation
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Germany, 1941-1944, Part 2: National Defense, Army, Navy, and Military Aviation contains a large number of documents prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on Nazi military affairs during the period 1941 through 1944. The material provides a detailed look at German military forces and operations, both in the aftermath of early Nazi victories and in the later years of Allied military successes. Containing both raw and analyzed intelligence in the form of notes, memos, letters, interview transcripts, cables, and finished reports, the collection includes material from the Military Intelligence Division itself, as well as from the FBI, the Bureau of Economic Warfare, the operational commands of the U.S. military services, and other sources.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Italy, 1918-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Italy, 1918-1941 contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on political, military, and economic developments in Italy during the interwar period. A large portion of the reports trace the rise and rule of Benito Mussolini and Fascism in Italy.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Japan, 1918-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Japan, 1918-1941 contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on military, political, and economic developments in Japan from 1918 through August 1941.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Mexico, 1919-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Mexico, 1919-1941 contains a large number of documents prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on political, governmental, military, and economic developments in Mexico.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Soviet Union, 1919-1941
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: The Soviet Union, 1919-1941 contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on political, military, and economic developments in the Soviet Union from 1919 through May 1941. The U.S. military intelligence reports are an important resource for any researcher interested in tracing the development of Soviet affairs. The reports provide valuable data on the major events of the formative decades of the Soviet Union: the civil war between Red and White forces; intervention by foreign troops following the assumption of power by the Bolsheviks; the organization of the Red Army; the purge of Red Army officers; the pact with Germany; preparation for war; and the surprise attack by Germany.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Soviet Union, 1941-1944
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: The Soviet Union, 1941-1944 contains a large amount of significant material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on military, political, and economic developments in the Soviet Union during World War II, from June 1941 through 1944.
