Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Historical Primary Sources - Foundation Collection: North America - U.S. West

Historical Primary Sources is a collection of ProQuest databases containing primary source content from newspapers, magazines, books, manuscripts, U.S. and UK Government Documents, and more. This rich collection has been assembled specifically for researchers and students at smaller institutions in this region.

Databases for North America - U.S. West

Includes: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington state.

U.K. Government

U.S. Government

  • Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824-2003 [Search] [Guide]
  • Congressional Research Digital Collection, 1830-2003 [Search] [Guide]
  • US Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-1969 [Search] [Guide]
  • Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1932 [Search] [Guide]
  • Historical Statistical Abstracts, 1878-2012 [Search] [Guide]
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) [Search] [Guide]

History Primary Sources

Early English Books

  • Early English Books Online [Search] [Guide] including TCP [Guide]

Periodicals and Magazines [Search]

Alexander Street
See Content Description

  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries [Search]
  • American Film Scripts [Search]
  • American Newsreels in Video [Search]
  • Black Thought and Culture [Search]
  • British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries [Search]
  • Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts [Search]
  • Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation [Search]
  • Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement [Search]
  • Early Encounters in North America [Search] [Guide]
  • Food Studies Online [Search]
  • The Gilded Age [Search]
  • Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 [Search]
  • Human Rights Studies Online [Search] [Guide]
  • LGBT Thought and Culture [Search]
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories [Search]
  • North American Indian Thought and Culture [Search] [Guide]
  • North American Women’s Letters and Diaries [Search]
  • The Sixties, The: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 - [Search Text] and [Search Video Content]
  • Social Theory [Search]
  • Twentieth Century Advice Literature [Search]
  • Twentieth Century North American Drama [Search]
  • Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 [Search]

Historical Newspapers - International Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Chinese Newspapers (1832-1953) [Search]
  • Jerusalem Post (1932-2008) [Search]
  • South China Morning Post (1903-1998) [Search]
  • The Globe and Mail (1844-2013) [Search]
  • The Irish Times (1859-2015) [Search]
  • The Scotsman (1817-1950) [Search]
  • Times of India (19838-2008) [Search]
  • Toronto Star (1894-2015) [Search]
  • Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) [Search]
  • Chicago Defender (1910-1975) [Search]
  • Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991) [Search]
  • Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) [Search]
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) [Search]
  • Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003) [Search]
  • The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) [Search]
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - Jewish Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • America Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) [Search]
  • The American Israelite (1854-2000) [Search]
  • The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) [Search]
  • Jewish Exponent (1887-1990) [Search]

Historical Newspapers - U.S. Regional Newspapers [Search] [Guide]

  • The Arizona Republican (1890-1922) [Search]
  • Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) [Search]
  • Austin American Statesman (1871-1978) [Search]
  • The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991) [Search]
  • The Boston Globe (1872-1985) [Search]
  • Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004) [Search]
  • The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922) [Search]
  • Dayton Daily News (1898-1922) [Search]
  • Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) [Search]
  • Hartford Courant (1764-1991) [Search]
  • The Indianapolis Star (1903-1922) [Search]
  • Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-1922) [Search]
  • Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922) [Search]
  • New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) [Search]
  • Newsday (1940-1989) [Search]
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) [Search]
  • ProQuest Civil War Era Newspapers (1840-1865) [Search] [Guide]