Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music Periodicals Database

leading source on all aspects of music

Searchable Fields

 

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(swing jazz)

Members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(1191505)

Search the unique database ID for articles and documents.

All Fields

ALL

ALL(orchestra)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Armitage-Smith, Julian)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Broad Subject Headings

BSU

BSU(music history)

Use to search for a broad subject heading that has been applied to an article.

Character 

CHR 

CHR(Figaro)

Use to search for a character from an opera or other artistic work.

Country of Publication / Place of Publication

CP

CP(United Kingdom)
CP(London)

Use to search for where a publication was produced.

Company

ORG

 

ORG(Greek National Opera) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Chart)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, musical scores, and photographs.

Document Number

AN

AN(1153476)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases, such as PsycINFO).

Document Text

FT

FT(cello sonatas)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(rock)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(performance review)

Use this to find specific document types such as journal article, bibliographies, film reviews and musical notation.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(00014788)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(5)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.

Journal Subject

JSU 

JSU(opera)

This field searches for the subjects assigned to the journals themselves. 

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Location

LOC

LOC(Austin)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Narrow Subject Heading

NSU

NSU(18th century)

Use to search for a narrow subject heading that has been applied to an article.

Person

PER

PER(Frank Sinatra)

Use to find articles about a person.

Publication Date

PD

PD(19871001)

Use to find a specific publication date.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(rolling stone)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

Publication Year  

YR 

YR(2009)

Use to find a specific publication year.

Publisher

PB 

PB(Cambridge University Press)

Use to search by a specific publisher. 

Source type

SType

STYPE(newspapers)

Use to find a specific source type such as trade journals, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(music)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “music,” will find articles with the broad subjects "music history" and "popular music", as well as the narrow subjects "jazz musicians" and "musical works". To run an exact subject search where only “music” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(music)

Tags

TAG

TAG(sax transcriptions)

Use to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.

Volume

VO

VO(100)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.

 

Database Specific Limiters and Fields in Advanced Search

Exclude: Reviews

The Exclude: Reviews limit allows you to remove all documents marked as a review - Article Review, Audio Review, Book Review, etc. - from your results without having to select all of them from the Document type limit.

Database Specific Limits and Fields

Broad subject heading, Narrow subject heading, and Person are part of the subject field search. They are defined as types of subjects and can be located by searching the subject field, but also are indexed separately and in addition to the subject as specific subject types. When a subject from a record happens to be a broad subject heading, a narrow subject heading, or a person, you will find a separate indexed subject field for these types. Subjects are also known as descriptors, subject headings, controlled vocabulary and sometimes classification terms.

See the list of the Broad Subject Headings here in the box on the right

Country of publication is the country where the publication was produced. Use the look up link next the to Country of publication search box to browse the list of countries and add them to your search.

To learn more about the look up feature, please visit the Searchable Fields section of this guide.

The Document type limit is used to refer to the format of the document. This includes journal articles, bibliographies, film reviews, musical notation, and many others. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document types will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document types will then only run your search to include those document types you selected.

The Reference work limit is used to restrict your search to entries from the Naxos Music Library reference works that are integrated with the Music Periodicals Database. This includes the Music Glossary, Opera Synopses, Music Fundamental Terms, and Pronunciation Guides. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all reference works will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the reference works will then only run your search to include those reference works you selected.

The Document feature limit can be used when you want to limit your search to items that contain additional graphical images such as charts, tables, photos, or musical scores. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all document features will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the document features will then only run your search to include those document features you selected.

The Language limit is used to restrict your search to documents published in one or more languages. All are unchecked by default and if you leave them as such when you run your search, all languages will be included in your search. Limiting your search by marking any of the languages will then only run your search to include those languages you selected.