Music Periodicals Database

Including both abstract/indexed and full text publications, the Music Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP and IIMP Full Text)) offers access to over 950 international music periodicals, of which 400 are full text, including complete runs of over 54 important titles, such as the Journal of the American Musicological Society and Notes.

The database contains over 2.4 million records, the majority of which index articles from 1996 onwards. Around 220,000 records in Music Periodicals Database are from the backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874. New journals are added with the advice of the Music Periodicals Database Advisory Board.

Main Features:

• Currency: Music Periodicals Database has the most current records; typically, around 60,000 records are added yearly, with monthly updates.
• Abstracts: Every citation from 1996 forward contains an abstract.
• Extensive backfile: Only Music Periodicals Database has such an extensive backfile - from as early as 1874 for indexed titles - available electronically. In addition, over 54 titles are indexed from first issue to last.
• All types of music covered: Music Periodicals Database offers unmatched access to all types of music and styles, including many key full-text titles in all categories, ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone, from Rolling Stone to Early Music.

Music Periodicals Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals in the all aspects of music and musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock. Among others, covered topics are: music education , musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture,  popular music forms and composition.