Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest Central

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Central including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

In this page we will show the unique search features for ProQuest Central. Go to the Platform LibGuide for a complete guide to ProQuest's search and display features.

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the ProQuest Central subject field. 

thesaurus is an alphabetical listing of all the subject terms in a single database, used to classify and organize information for that database. The thesaurus shows relationships between terms such as synonyms or related terms, and hierarchical arrangements such as broader terms, or narrower terms. Most ProQuest databases have an associated thesaurus. By adding thesaurus terms to your search, you can broaden or narrow your search, or find related words to further explore your subject of interest.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word.

 

Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms. You can also combine terms you find in the thesaurus with your current Advanced or Command Line search.

In addition to the all-encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

Through the Thesaurus link and in addition to the ProQuest Thesaurus, you'll also see a link to the MeSH 2018 Thesaurus. MeSH stands for Medical Subject Headings and is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. Any record with MeSH subjects means that the record is indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed. When a record has MeSH subjects assigned to it, you will often see ProQuest subjects assigned to it as well. To use the MeSH Thesaurus, follow the same directions we covered earlier.

You can also find additional Thesaurus help from our Thesaurus help file

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

ProQuest Central offers seven Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject, company/organization, and person, location. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right.

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.