Basic SearchAdvanced SearchCommand Line SearchLook Up CitationFigures and Tables Search
Full Record: Citation & Abstract
This is the "About" page of the "International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ProQuest Home ProQuest LibGuides Home About the ProQuest LibGuides Creators Our Webinars Using our LibGuides ProQuest Training Videos ProQuest Trainers on Facebook ProQuest Twitter Image Map

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)   Tags: ibss, proquest platform, social sciences  

A guide to all aspects of International Bibliography of the Social Sciences including content, searching and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://proquest.libguides.com/IBSS Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Coverage

    • Anthropology
    • Archaeology
    • Area studies
    • Business and management
    • Demography
    • Development studies
    • Economics
    • Education
    • Ethnology and ethnography
    • Gender and sexuality
    • Health
    • History
    • Human geography and environment
    • International relations
    • Law
    • Media and communication
    • Philosophy
    • Policy studies
    • Political science
    • Psychology
    • Religious studies
    • Sociology
     

    Publication Types

    • Book
    • Chapter
    • Conference
    • Conference paper
    • Journal article
    • Review
     

    What is IBSS

    International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

    International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research focusing on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics, and sociology. IBSS includes over 2.5 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 book and chapter records are included each year. Abstracts are provided for around 80% of all current journal articles and users can link to the full text of articles in journals subscribed to by their institution.

     

    One of the unique benefits of IBSS is its extensive coverage of international material with over 50% of journals published outside the US or UK and with 25% of references in languages other than English. Records include material from 100 countries and in 60 languages. Access to this breadth of coverage helps provide researchers with a truly international perspective to their work.

    The online database is updated weekly to ensure that researchers have access to the very latest information relating to their particular field of interest. Some 100,000 records are added to the database annually.

                                                                                       

    ProQuest Illustrata™ Deep Indexing

    We’ve indexed millions of figures, photos, graphs and tables from over 1200 journal titles the Social Sciences component of ProQuest Illustrata. Indexed images enhance researchers’ ability to retrieve the most relevant literature – an article featuring a relevant table indexed with terms matching your search query is very likely to be highly relevant to your research.

    See the Figures & Tables Search page on this guide to begin uncovering the indexed images.

     

    Selection Policy

    To meet the information needs of social science researchers, the majority of current IBSS records are articles and book reviews drawn from scholarly social science journals. The service regularly covers around 2,800 journals and indexes selected monograph and chapters.

    Publication Coverage

    To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

    Using our LibGuides | Suggest a Guide | Webinars & Screencasts | Discover More Corps | ProQuest

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip