Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

A guide to all aspects of International Bibliography of the Social Sciences including content, searching and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Content

One of the unique benefits of  International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is its extensive coverage of international material with over 50% of journals published outside the US or UK and with 25% of references in languages other than English. Records include material from 100 countries and in 60 languages. Access to this breadth of coverage helps provide researchers with a truly international perspective to their work.

The online database is updated weekly to ensure that researchers have access to the very latest information relating to their particular field of interest. Some 100,000 records are added to the database annually.

Subject Coverage

  • Accounting
  • Agriculture
  • Anthropology
  • Archaeology
  • Art and architecture
  • Business studies
  • Communication and media
  • Criminology
  • Cultural studies
  • Demography
  • Development studies
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Ethnology and ethnography
  • Family studies
  • Finance
  • Gender and sexuality studies
  • Geography
  • Globalisation
  • Health
  • History
  • Human behavior
  • Industrial relations
  • International relations
  • Law
  • Linguistics
  • Organisation theory
  • Philosophy
  • Policy studies
  • Political science
  • Psychology
  • Public administration
  • Race and ethnic studies
  • Regional studies
  • Religious studies
  • Science and technology
  • Social work, social problems, and social policy
  • Sociology
  • Social sciences
  • Statistics
  • Urban and rural studies