Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM): About

The premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts

Subject Coverage

  • Art criticism
  • Art history
  • Art theory
  • Art therapy
  • Artists’ books
  • Bioart
  • Body art
  • Bookbinding
  • Cartoons and caricatures
  • Ceramics
  • Collectors and collecting
  • Conservation and restoration
  • Crafts
  • Design
  • Digital art
  • Drawing
  • Education
  • Ethnic and tribal art
  • Exhibitions, fairs and festivals
  • Fashion
  • Folk art
  • Food art
  • Forgeries and thefts
  • Glass art
  • Graffiti and street art
  • Iconography
  • Interior decoration
  • Illustration
  • Jewelry
  • Light art
  • Museums and galleries
  • Outside art
  • Painting
  • Performance art
  • Philosophy and art
  • Photography and photojournalism
  • Political art
  • Printmaking
  • Public art
  • Religion and art
  • Sculpture
  • Society and art
  • Symbolism
  • Textiles
  • Typography
  • Video art
  • War art
  • Woodwork

Document Types

  • Book
  • Book Monograph
  • Book Review
  • Catalogue
  • Dissertation
  • Essay
  • Exhibition Review
  • Journal Article

What is ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)?

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention and is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art; complements other ProQuest art databases, including IBA which covers Art History and DAAI which covers design.

More about ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)

decorative image

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

International Content

In addition to the US, UK and Ireland, there are particular strengths in German, French, Italian, Spanish and Asian/Pacific content, plus representative coverage of Scandinavia and Central and Eastern Europe.

Asian/Pacific journals indexed include:

  • ART AsiaPacific
  • Art India
  • Art Monthly Australia
  • Art New Zealand
  • Asian Art News
  • Bulletin of the National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo
  • Tribal Art (covers Oceania, Indonesian)
  • Yishu (Chinese)

Key non-English-language journals indexed include:

  • German: Kunstforum International, Springerin, Weltkunst
  • French: Beaux Arts, Oeil, Espace
  • Italian: Arte, Giornale dell’Arte
  • Spanish: Lapiz, Arte y Parte
  • Russian: DI, Novyi Mir Iskusstva
  • Dutch: Jong Holland
  • Portuguese: ARTEunesp
  • Scandinavian: Paletten (Swedish), Taide (Finnish), Kunsthandverk (Norwegian), Katalog (Danish)
  • Central/East European: Opuscula Historiae Articum (Czech), Ars (Slovak), Radionica (Serbo-Croat), Ut Muveszet (Hungarian), Kunst.ee (Estonian), Konteksty (Polish)
  • Mexican: Artes de Mexico

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

Also part of

Arts Premium Collection

Art, Design & Architecture Collection