Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Arts & Humanities Database: About

A designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM

Subject Coverage

  • Anthropology
  • Archaeology
  • Architecture
  • Art
  • Classical Studies
  • Cultural Studies
  • Design
  • Geography
  • History
  • Literature
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy

Plato

Plato

Art Throughout History

Art History

Cubism

Cubism

Chihuly

Chihuly

Leonardo Glass Cube

Leonardo Glass Cube

Tamil Script

Tamil Script

Museum of Anthropology Vancouver

Museum of Anthropology Vancouver

Oxford Cathedral

Oxford Cathedral

What you can find

The subjects in the scrolling gallery above are just a few of the things you can research in the Arts & Humanities Database!

What is the Arts & Humanities Database?

The Arts & Humanities Database complements the ProQuest Arts and Humanities portfolio, providing Full Text access to approximately 500 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more.

More about the Arts & Humanities Database

Arts & Humanities Database is a significant resource especially in the visual and applied arts.

It contains over 500 titles, all of them indexed in one or more of the Arts and Humanities databases. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies, and the subject strengths of the collection are:

  • Art, design, crafts and photography
  • Archeology, anthropology and classical studies
  • Architecture, interior design and urban planning
  • History, philosophy, geography and religion
  • Modern languages and literatures
  • Music, theater, film and cultural studies

The contents reflect the full interdisciplinary scope of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.

Product Features and Benefits of the Arts & Humanities Database

  • Provides access to comprehensive materials essential for research in ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more.
  • Supports research in Liberal Arts and the growing interdisciplinary studies.
  • Provides comprehensive coverage in subject areas not covered by existing library resources.
  • Matches needs of curriculum and research, with increased focus on contemporary art and the increasing prevalence of more academic components to art and design courses.
  • History of Art has become highly interdisciplinary, so articles are needed from history, sociology, philosophy and cultural studies journals.
  • Subscribers to any of the Arts and Humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, BHI, MLA International Bibliography of Art and Philosopher’s Index can link from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles.
  • Studio Art or Design students can access images and other information about contemporary art practice.
  • Curators and art trade professionals can access art trade news across a wide range of periodical

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: