Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI): About

An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities

Subject Coverage

  • Advertising
  • Animation
  • Architecture
  • Book design
  • Ceramics
  • Computer aided design
  • Computer graphics
  • Crafts
  • Design history
  • Design management
  • Education
  • Exhibitions
  • Fashion and clothing
  • Fiber arts
  • Furniture
  • Garden design
  • Glass
  • Graphic design
  • Illustration
  • Inclusive design
  • Industrial design
  • Interior design
  • Jewelry
  • Landscape architecture
  • Metalsmithing
  • Packaging
  • Product design
  • Retail design
  • Sustainable design
  • Textiles
  • Theatre
  • Typography and type design
  • Universal design
  • Urban design
  • Vehicles
  • Web design

Document Types

  • Article
  • Arts Exhibits Review-Favorable
  • Book
  • Book Review
  • Cd-rom Review
  • Commentary
  • Corrections
  • Corrections Retraction
  • Cover Story
  • Credits
  • Editorial
  • Exhibition Catalogue
  • Exhibition Catalogue Review
  • Exhibition Review
  • Feature
  • Film Review
  • General Information
  • Illustration
  • Interview
  • Introduction
  • Journal Article
  • Journal Review
  • Letter
  • News
  • Obituary
  • Report
  • Research Article
  • Review
  • Review Article
  • Table of Contents
  • Theater Review
  • Video Review

What is Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)?

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) provides researchers, studio artists, and designers with authoritative source abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards.  Updated monthly, DAAI covers designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.  

More about Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)

decorative image

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. An indispensable tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. DAAI contains more than 212,000 records, with around 1,200 new records added in each monthly update.

DAAI is a thorough index for researchers interested in creating an extensive bibliography on their topic; researchers can keep up-to-date with recent scholarship, and see what has already been published in a specific area; librarians can have a finding aid for their print journals; a curator preparing an exhibition can find information on an artist or movement; a designer or collector can research the history of an art work.

Additional Features and Benefits of DAAI

DAAI is unique for its coverage of craft & design (as opposed to modern art, or art history covered in ABM and IBA); it is the only index specializing in this field and helping to point researchers to relevant, often hard to find information. 

  • Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century
  • Covers non-U.S. journals in depth. Covers key journals from Australia, Germany, Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Japan, Turkey; there is good international coverage of titles a general academic library may have difficulty tracing.
  • Provides full abstracts, created by ProQuest editors and specialists in the field, help researchers decide if they need the article.
  • Includes trade journals & consumer magazines as well as scholarly journals for this subject area: the database has applications not just in scholarly research, but also schools of design and on practical, vocational courses
  • Uses controlled vocabulary and thesaurus for ease of use and quality control.

Also part of

Arts Premium Collection

Art, Design & Architecture Collection

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: