Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ERIC: About

A guide to all aspects of ERIC including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Adult, Career, and Vocational Education
  • Counselling and Personnel Services
  • Elementary and Early Childhood Education
  • Education Management
  • Handicapped and Gifted Children
  • Higher Education Information Resources
  • Junior Colleges
  • Languages and Linguistics
  • Reading and Communication Skills
  • Rural Education and Small Schools
  • Science, Mathematics ,and Environmental Education,
  • Social Studies and Social Science Education
  • Teacher Education ,Tests, Measurement, and Evaluation
  • Urban Education

Publication Types

  • Journal articles
  • Books
  • Research syntheses
  • Conference papers
  • Technical reports
  • Policy papers
  • Other education-related materials

Did You Know?

ERIC currently indexes grey literature content published by 1,057 selected centers, agencies, programs, associations, non-profit organizations, and initiatives.  To see a current list of thes non-journal sources, click here to access the list at the ERIC website.

What is ERIC?

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the U.S. National Library of Education (NLE).

ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.  

More about ERIC?

Currently over 650,000 records are from scholarly journals, more than 225,000 records are from reports, conference proceedings, and the like, and reference works in excess of 14,000 records.  Many of these records contain links to the ERIC full-text documents, but the user can also access full-text from the publisher when available or use the library's linked full-text resources when available.Additional full text from ProQuest for many of the journals indexed in ERIC is available through ProQuest Education Journals. The bundle of ERIC Plus Text includes the ERIC index and ProQuest Education Journals, and users can link directly from records in an ERIC search to full text from ProQuest Education Journals.

Coverage: 1966 - current.

Selection Policy

ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Most of these journals are indexed comprehensively - that is, a record for every article in each issue is included in ERIC. Some journals are indexed selectively - that is, only those articles that are education-related are selected for indexing.

In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.

As of January 2014, ERIC’s Selection Policy reflects four overarching goals:

• Ensure that each resource selected for indexing is education research that is relevant to the ERIC mission.
• Increase the number of peer-reviewed, full-text materials in ERIC.
• Increase the number of full-text materials that are rigorous and relevant although not peer reviewed.
• Limit articles without full text to only those articles that are peer reviewed or are of substantive rigor and relevance.

Click here to read the complete Selection Policy at

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

Other Guides You Might Like

PDF Restoration Process Update - 31 July 2014

On 31 July 2014, IES sent an email to their Newsflash listserv reporting that Phase I of the ERIC PDF restoration project is now complete, resulting in 94% of the previously removed documents now being available online!

Read the entire announcement at the IES News website.