Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals: Home

Definitive research tool for film and TV scholarship

Screen Studies Collection

The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database can be cross-searched along with the AFI Catalog and BFI Film Index International in the encompassing Screen Studies Collection (SSC). Consult the SSC LibGuide for more information.


The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Databases brings together bibliographical contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloging and documentation. It is an essential reference work for any film researcher or student.

In addition, about 75 of the most important titles appear in full text, some from the first issue published.

Full-text journals range from the scholarly (Film Comment, Framework) to the popular (Variety, Sight & Sound), and content is updated monthly to ensure currency. Most full-text titles are current rather than ceased publications.

In addition to searching for articles, users can browse journal issues by going to the Publications page.

Individual citations and articles can be emailed, and records and searches can be saved in the My Research area for future use.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database

The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database by ProQuest is brought together by institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents.

Founded in Paris in 1938, FIAF (The International Federation of Film Archives) is a collaborative association of the world's leading film archives whose purpose has always been to ensure the proper preservation and showing of motion pictures. Today, more than 120 archives in over 65 countries collect, restore, and exhibit films and cinema documentation spanning the entire history of film.

More about FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database

This database is an essential reference work for any film researcher and contains a diverse range of specialist content:

  • The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database contains over 800,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract, and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles, and general subjects). Over 70 Journals are available in full text.

Also included are:

  • The Treasures from the Film Archives dataset, a database containing credits and holdings information about the silent era film holdings of film archives from around the world
  • 5 key reference volumes:
    • the Oxford History of World Cinema (Oxford University Press, 1997)
    • Critical Ideas in Television Studies (Oxford University Press, 1999)
    • Film Analysis: A Norton Reader (W.W. Norton & Company Inc., 2005).
    • Encyclopedia of Early Cinema (Taylor & Francis Ltd., 2005)
    • The Routledge Companion to Film History (Taylor & Francis Ltd., 2011)

More details on each of these Document Types in the Sample Content page

The list of Search Fields in the Searchable Fields page will explain to which of these Document Types each field applies.

See examples on how to search the different types of documents in the Sample Searches page.

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at

Subject coverage

  • Film history
  • Movie industry
  • Cinema studies
  • Hollywood

Content Updates in Support Center

Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:

ProQuest Literature and Arts Databases Content Updates

once in the article, click on   to be emailed every time the article is updated.