Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: About

An unparalleled digital archive of the most sought-after newspapers for research

Document Types

Researchers can search different Document Types to find exactly what they are looking for, including:

  • Advertisement
  • Article
  • Birth Notice
  • Classified Advertisement
  • Commentary
  • Correspondence
  • Credit/Acknowledgement
  • Editorial
  • Editorial Cartoon/Comic
  • Feature
  • Fiction
  • Front Matter
  • Front Page/Cover Story
  • General Information
  • Illustration
  • Image/Photograph
  • Legal Notice
  • Letter To The Editor
  • Marriage Announcement
  • Military/War News
  • News
  • Obituary
  • Review
  • Stock Quote
  • Table Of Contents

Product Features and Benefits

ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 35 million digitized pages from the most influential and historically respected newspapers in the world.

  • Over 45 full-run titles, including the most sought-after titles in the US and internationally
  • Every issue of each title includes the complete paper cover-to-cover, all fully searchable 
  • Article-level treatment with over 20 assigned article types, which helps researchers quickly hone in on the exact content for which they are searching
  • Human correction of the article titles, by-lines, photo captions, and the first 8 lines of every article means accuracy levels of 99.995% for those parts of the text
  • Cross-searchable with all other ProQuest newspaper and historical content

What are ProQuest Historical Newspapers?

As the gold standard for historical databases, ProQuest Historical Newspapers make an ideal starting point for nearly any research endeavor. With 45 premier titles to choose from, including customized collections, ProQuest Historical Newspapers empower researchers to become eyewitnesses to history.

For centuries, the hallmark of newspapers has been reporting on momentous occasions, taking political stances, and covering issues of everyday life. ProQuest Historical Newspapers enables casual explorers and serious researchers alike to digitally travel back through centuries to become eyewitnesses to history for events such as

  • the inauguration of a world leader
  • a breakthrough medical discovery
  • a declaration of war
  • the social event of the season
  • the rock concert of a generation
  • a new recipe.
  • a death in the family
  • the birth of freedom

For centuries, newspapers have been at the scene capturing not only the facts about momentous occasions, but also the sights and sounds of everyday life.

Front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types combine to help today’s researchers not only understand the news of yesteryear, but also the context in which it was made. For vital, primary source materials about worldwide and local events from 1764 into the 21st century, start here.

Titles and Coverage

ProQuest Historical Newspapers features the following titles:

  • The Arizona Republican—1890-1922
  • Atlanta Constitution—1868-1984
  • The Austin American Statesman--1871-1977*
  • The Baltimore Sun—1837-1991*
  • The Boston Globe—1872-1984*
  • Chicago Tribune—1849-1993*
  • The Christian Science Monitor—1908-2003*
  • Cincinnati Enquirer—1841-1922
  • Detroit Free Press—1831-1922  new!
  • Hartford Courant—1764-1991*
  • The Indianapolis Star—1903-1922
  • Los Angeles Times—1881-1993*
  • The Louisville Courier-Journal--1830-1922
  • Minneapolis Star Tribune--1867-2001  new!
  • Nashville Tennessean—1812-1922
  • The New York Times (1851-2013*) with Index—(1851-1993)
  • New York Tribune/Herald Tribune—1841-1962
  • Newsday—1940-1988*
  • Philadelphia Inquirer--1860-2001  new!
  • Pittsburgh Post-Gazette--1786-2003  new!
  • San Francisco Chronicle—1865-1922
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch—1874-1922
  • The Wall Street Journal—1889-1999
  • Washington Post—1877-1999

International Newspapers:

  • Chinese Newspaper Collection—1832-1953
  • The Globe and Mail—1844-2012*
  • The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer—(1791-2003)
  • Irish Times (1859-2015*) & Weekly Irish Times—(1876-1958)
  • Jerusalem Post—1932-2008
  • The Scotsman—1817-1950
  • South China Morning Post--1903-1997*
  • Times of India—1838-2007*
  • Toronto Star—1894-2013*

Black Newspapers:

  • Atlanta Daily World—1931-2003
  • The Baltimore Afro-American—1893-1988
  • Cleveland Call & Post—1934-1991
  • Chicago Defender—1910-1975
  • Los Angeles Sentinel—1934-2005
  • New York Amsterdam News—1922-1993
  • The Norfolk Journal & Guide—1921-2003
  • The Philadelphia Tribune—1912-2001
  • Pittsburgh Courier—1911-2002

American Jewish Newspapers:

  • The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger—1857-1922
  • The American Israelite—1854-2000
  • The Jewish Advocate—1905-1990
  • Jewish Exponent—1887-1990

*Additional year of content added annually

Food for Thought

Newspapers live only in the present tense and, as a consequence, give the time traveller an unparalleled sense of what the world was like - the prejudices, the habits, manners and preoccupations seen through a fixed prism.
—Richard Eyre, Saturday Guardian, March 11, 2007

Printable Title List