Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

International Bibliography of Art (IBA): About

A key resource for scholarly literature on western art

Subject Coverage

  • American art since the colonial period
  • Archaeology and material culture
  • Architectural history
  • Decorative arts and antiques
  • European art since late antiquity
  • Fine art in all media
  • Folk art
  • Global art since 1945
  • Museum studies and conservation

Document Types

  • Article
  • Catalogue D'exposition
  • Compte Rendu
  • Conference Proceeding
  • Dissertation
  • Editorial
  • Exhibition Catalog
  • Interview
  • Journal
  • Letter to the Editor
  • News
  • Obituary
  • Report
  • Research and Analysis
  • Reviews (Journal, Article, Book, etc)
  • Website

Also part of

Arts Premium Collection

Art, Design & Architecture Collection

What is the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) ?

The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the key resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)---long recognized as the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.

More about the International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

decorative image

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) comprises 28,000 records created by the Getty Research Institute covering 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest's in-house editorial teams going forward.

Bibliographic records cover scholarship on art and art history. The database will grow by 18,000 records per year, ensuring unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010. The initial data set created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-2009 covers scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years, and in some cases the new ProQuest indexing will also cover retrospective years in order to fill gaps in coverage.

Editorial scope covers:

  • European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945
  • Visual arts: painting, sculpture, drawing, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.

At least 500 core journals are included, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.

International in coverage, around 60% of the content is non-English language, principally German, French, Italian and Spanish. Contributors include indexers based at the Bibliotheca Hertziana (Rome), Stockholm University and the libraries of the National Galleries of Canada and Finland.

Features and Benefits

Features

Benefits

IBA benefits from ProQuest’s acclaimed editorial operations, with its emphasis on subject expertise and manual indexing. Includes abstracts, authority files, highly specialist indexing

Detailed, high quality records direct researchers to most important information from the definitive, authoritative index

Covers research on western art, and art which has western influences, with growing coverage of Asian and African art

Focused, specialist collection, with distinct editorial coverage not replicated in other databases

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit our Title List for all products.

BHA and IBA

BHA has indexing from 1973 to September 2008, covering publications up to 2007 and can be searched here.

IBA starts with the December 2008 update. ProQuest has an exclusive license for 2008-2009 data, and has been adding approximately 18,000 new records per year since 2010.