Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Library & Information Science Collection: About

Assists library science students, researchers, and professionals find the relevant scholarly content for topics in their field


The products and collections listed below make up the Library & Information Science Collection.  Links are provided to the guides for the specific products for detailed information on searching those products.


  • Information management
  • Information technology
  • Internet technology
  • Knowledge management
  • Librarianship
  • Libraries and archives
  • Library management
  • Library technology
  • Library use and users
  • Online information retrieval

What is the Library & Information Science Collection?

The Library & Information Science Collection combines Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), the leading index for library science, with full-text for many titles. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval, and more. It covers titles from many different countries and in more than 20 languages.

More details of the specific content are provided below

Links to the guides for the content listed are available in the left column.

What is Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)?

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) is an international abstracting and indexing service designed for library professionals and other information specialists.

LISA provides bibliographic information about past and present developments in librarianship, information science, online retrieval, publishing and information technology. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 45 countries and in more than 20 different languages.

LISA is updated monthly, with more than 1,000 records added per update.

What is the Library Science Database?

The Library Science Database provides access to over 150 top publications in library and information science. It is specifically designed to provide full-text support for the core titles included in the Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA) database.

With coverage of hundreds of topics researched in the field of library and information science, this database includes text and images from journals such as:

  • American Libraries
  • Collection Building
  • Portal: Libraries and the Academy
  • Reference & User Services Quarterly
  • Technical Communication Quarterly
  • School Libraries Worldwide

Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.

Coverage:  1970-current

Library Science Database can be searched as part of ProQuest Central, the Social Sciences Premium Collection and the Library & Information Science Collection.