Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Music Periodicals Database: About

leading source on all aspects of music

The Collection

The Music Periodicals Database can be cross-searched along with the Performing Arts Database in the encompassing Music & Performing Arts Collection. Consult the Music & Performing Arts Collection LibGuide for more information.

Publication Types & Coverage

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Magazines
  • Trade Journals
  • Encyclopedias & Reference Works
  • Newspapers
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings

* Click here for the Latest Title list

Selection Policy

Music Periodicals Database seeks to be responsive to the current needs of music scholars at all levels. Informed by our Advisory Board of academics and music librarians our subject specialist editors index the most important and influential journals deeply and accurately.

Subject Coverage

  • Classical music and opera
  • Jazz and blues
  • Rock, soul and hip-hop
  • Folk music
  • Music business
  • Sound recording
  • Ethnomusicology
  • Music education
  • Music therapy
  • Instruments

What is the Music Periodicals Database?

The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP+IIMP Full Text) – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.

More about the Music Periodicals Database

Including both abstract/indexed and full text publications, the Music Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP and IIMP Full Text)) is the leading specialized source of periodicals for the general, undergraduate, and advanced study of music.

The database offers access to over 610 international music periodicals, of which 225 are full text, including complete runs of over 54 important titles, such as the Journal of the American Musicological Society and Notes.

The database contains over 1.3 million records, the majority of which index articles from 1996 onwards. Around 220,000 records in Music Periodicals Database are from the backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874.

New journals are added with the advice of the Music Periodicals Database Advisory Board.

Benefits include:

  • Currency: Music Periodicals Database has the most current records; typically, around 60,000 records are added yearly, with monthly updates.
  • Abstracts: Every citation from 1996 forward contains an abstract.
  • Extensive backfile: Only Music Periodicals Database has such an extensive backfile - from as early as 1874 for indexed titles - available electronically. In addition, over 54 titles are indexed from first issue to last.
  • All types of music covered: Music Periodicals Database offers unmatched access to all types of music and styles, including many key full-text titles in all categories, ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone, from Rolling Stone to Early Music.

Music Periodicals Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals in the all aspects of music and musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock. Among others, covered topics are: music education , musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture,  popular music forms and composition.

Content Updates in Support Center

Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:

ProQuest Literature and Arts Databases Content Updates

once in the article, click on   to be emailed every time the article is updated.