Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest OASIS: Home

Welcome! ProQuest OASIS

OASIS (Online Acquisitions and Selection Information System) is ProQuest’s free web-based system for searching, selecting, and ordering print and electronic books for academic libraries.

*OASIS has over 2.5 million total ebook titles across all ebook platforms

Overview

OASIS (Online Acquisitions and Selection Information   System) is ProQuest’s free web-based system for searching, selecting, and ordering print and electronic books for academic libraries. OASIS users not only enjoy access to the broadest title database in the industry but also benefit from powerful search tools that help locate titles quickly and efficiently. Via OASIS users have access to the top eBook platforms in the market-  Ebook Central, EBL, MyiLibrary, ebrary & EBSCO ebooks. Our book distribution centers in the US and UK benefit from a partnership with INGRAM and from close relationships with publishers and other distributors to ensure efficient print order fulfillment to customers worldwide.

Product Benefits

Product Features & Benefits

Multiple Acquisition Workflows - Approval Plans and Demand Driven: OASIS supports approval plans, slip plans, and demand driven acquisition workflows (for print, ebook, integrated P & E profiles) in addition to firm order and standing order functionality to allow libraries maximum flexibility in building their book collections. OASIS has several additional features that help collection development librarians optimize their collection features such as:

  • New title notifications (electronic slip notifications)
  • Review and reject shelf is an OASIS feature that enables online review by library selectors of print and ebook approval titles prior to invoicing and shipment by ProQuest, for a pre-determined period of time
  • Multi-line ordering. OASIS allows users to order copies of a single ISBN needing multiple sets of local order detail corresponding to multiple locations.
  • Single title or batch ordering

EDI, API and Other Ordering and Invoicing Options: ProQuest is committed to providing libraries with efficient and flexible workflows.  Libraries can transmit orders direct through OASIS or via their library management system in conjunction with OASIS back-end technology. ProQuest supports the most current EDI standards and works with virtually all library management system suppliers to continuously improve the integration of our services with systems such as Innovative (Millennium and Sierra), ExLibris (Voyager, Aleph, and Alma), Heritage, Talis,  SirsiDynix  Symphony, Koha, Vubis. API ordering from OASIS to Alma, the industry’s leading cloud-based library management system from our sister company ExLibris, is also available

Comprehensive Deduplication Controls: OASIS offers multiple ways to manage title deduplication.

  • Libraries are encouraged to send holding loads as frequently as possible and free of cost to ensure optimal duplication control
  • OASIS supports Catalog Check URL links to library catalogs for automatic batch deduplication 
  • In OASIS, users are warned of possible duplications by visual "Check Status" notifications, which indicate actions taken against or indicate the current status of a title

Extensive List Functionality:  Users can create multiple lists to manage selection, ordering, as well as colleague and faculty recommendations. Users can even mark different titles in a list for different actions: order, list, recycle etc. and process the action in batch, saving time. 

Title and Title Action functionality: OASIS provides a number of title actions such as list curation, shopping carts, batch processing set up to help manage the selection and ordering process.  These actions can be used on individual titles or used to manage or process an entire list.

Insightful Reporting: OASIS has several types of reports to support acquisition and collection development:

  • Expenditure Reports: These reports provide analysis of purchases by funds types, classification (LC or Dewey), Publisher, Interdisciplinary & Geographical Studies 
  • Approval Reports: Show the number of books and slips provided to the library, by profile
  • Standing Order Reports: Shows Standing Order Account Status, Delivery Report
  • Books and Slips Comparative: This customer specific report compares the number of books and slips sent against total ProQuest's Approval/Slip Plan output, by classification.
  • Custom Reports: OASIS provides the ability to download an Excel file with multiple data columns from any title list.

Groups: This opt-in feature enables OASIS users to create networks of libraries in order to view actions taken on titles by those libraries.

 

OASIS Help Portal: Detailed feature descriptions and easy how-to directions provide training and allow users to maximize their use of OASIS technology.

ProQuest OASIS Homepage

Why OASIS for Academic Libraries

  1. Largest Selection of ebooks in the Market: OASIS provides academic libraries access to over 2.5 million* unique ebook titles, helping build high quality collections.
  2. Extensive Title Coverage of Print books: Through OASIS, academic libraries gain access to an industry leading selection of print  books – over 25 million ISBNs.
  3. Advanced Search Capability: Flexible search functionality in OASIS makes it quick and easy to search and find the right print and ebook titles for library collections.
  4. Flexible Ordering Workflows:  OASIS supports multiple ordering and selection workflows for both print and ebooks to suit a library’s specific needs – approval plans, firm orders, standing orders, demand driven acquisition, EDI ordering.
  5. Comprehensive Title Metadata Foundation: OASIS functionality is supported by metadata from multiple sources including Library of Congress, Library and Archives Canada, British Library and publishers.
  6. Value-Add functionality at No Cost: The OASIS technology interface is free. In addition to the interface, libraries get a range of free services - MARC records for MyiLibrary titles, management reports, holdings updates, fund code customizations, DDA profile set-ups.

OASIS Help Portal

ProQuest OASIS Training Materials

Click on any link below for training materials on selector and ratifier workflows.

Training and Support

Request Training

If you don't find what you are looking for, or wish to request online training, please email (training@proquest.com) our dedicated training team.

Register for Public Webinars here or watch recorded sessions here

Contact  Sales

Contact Support

OASIS Help Portal