Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

PAIS Index: About

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers,

Subject Coverage

  • Economic Conditions
  • Education
  • Energy resources and policy
  • Government
  • Health conditions
  • Human rights
  • International Relations
  • Labor conditions and policy
  • Politics
  • Social conditions, Civil rights movement
  • Communism, socialism, nationalism
  • Great Depression
  • Religion and public schools
  • Space exploration
  • United Nations and League of Nations
  • Vietnam conflict
  • Watergate
  • Women's movement
  • World Wars I and II

Publication Types

  • Books
  • Magazines
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals

What is the PAIS Index?

The PAIS Index covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

More about the PAIS Index

PAIS (originally the Public Affairs Information Service) Index features two modules originating from printed index volumes: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Historically, PAIS Index did not index titles cover-to-cover and tended to exclude more technical and theoretical material, but since 2015 has taken a more rounded approach to the coverage of public policy material.

PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world with indexed materials published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish, among other languages. The collection includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward as well as PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.

PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, the Vietnam War, and Watergate. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976, and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics with the original, historical subject headings retained.

As content is only valuable if it is discoverable, the PAIS Index is presented on the ProQuest platform and its content is discoverable through Summon, OCLC WorldCat, Ex Libris Primo Central, PubMed, and Google Scholar (when enabled). Plus, through the ebooks tab on the ProQuest results page, researchers can cross search their organization's ProQuest ebook holdings (when available) alongside their ProQuest platform database content.

In addition, researchers benefit from robust information management and workflow tools and functionality integrated into the platform, including the ability to cite results in numerous citation styles, save as a PDF or other document formats, save searches, and export documents to reference management tools like RefWorks.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: