Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Central: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Central including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Databases in ProQuest Central

News

SciTech

  • Biology Database
  • Computing Database
  • Military Database
  • Science Database
  • Telecommunications Database

Arts & Humanities

  • Arts & Humanities Database
  • Religion Database

Interdisciplinary 

Publication Types

  • Audio & Video Works
  • Books
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Evidence-Based Medical Resources
  • Government & Official Publications
  • Historical Periodicals
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Other Sources
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Standards & Practice Guidelines
  • Trade Journals
  • Wire Feeds
  • Working Papers

What is ProQuest Central?

ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to almost 40 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. Unlike other resources, ProQuest Central is made up of separate, fully searchable databases which may be used together or separately. ProQuest Central won the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA) 2010 CODiE Award for Best Online General Reference Service.

While ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, it also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as:

  • Over 100,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more
  • Over 455,000 working papers from organizations such as NBER and OECD
  • Millions of up-to-date company reports, market and industry reports, and country profiles
  • The most comprehensive collection of market, industry, and economic reports available on the market today

The ProQuest Platform is optimized to provide deep subject access, as well as the best interdisciplinary cross-search for many levels of users. The ProQuest Platform won the 2015 Best Interface award in the Charleston Advisors Annual Readers' Choice Award.

Subject areas covered in ProQuest Central include:

Business
The inclusion of ABI/INFORM Collection gives access to thousands of journals specifically on business, economics, accounting, finance, management, taxation, law as well as a comprehensive collection of top market, industry, and country reports from Economist Intelligence Unit, BMI, ISI Emerging Markets, and more.

Science & Technology
ProQuest Central includes some of our key databases in the area, including Science Database, Biology Database, Computing Database, Telecommunications Database and Military Database, giving access to thousands of important full-text, impact factored journals, from Nature Publishing Group and Springer.

Health and Medical
With ProQuest Health and Medical Collection, ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database, Family Health Database, Health Management Database, Public Health Database, and Psychology Database, users have access to a truly international resource, with content from 45 different countries. This comprehensive collection includes full-text journals, as well as scholarly resources such as dissertations, professional literature, and practical medical training videos.

Social Sciences
ProQuest Central features scholarly journals, and professional journals in all the fields within social and political sciences with complete resources such as Criminal Justice Database, Education Database, Library Science Database, Linguistics Database, Political Science Database, Social Science Database, and Sociology Database.

Arts and Humanities
Comprehensive coverage of the humanities, arts, and culture with over 1,000 titles in the main subject areas including literature, history, religion, philosophy, and fine and performing arts. Arts & Humanities Database, Religion Database, and full-text titles from Research Library provide journals, magazines, and professional publications.

News
ProQuest Central contains over 2,000 full-text news titles from hundreds of global news organizations, such as Wall Street Journal*, The Guardian, El Mundo, Financial Times, The Times of India, The New York Times, Die Welt, and Le Monde, Los Angeles Times, and Al Bawaba news publications. Content is added daily to ProQuest Central, with major newspapers loading by 8am on the day of the publication.

Interdisciplinary

ProQuest Central includes the multidisciplinary Research Library, Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database, and nine regional databases.

The regional databases provide current, full-text, scholarly journals locally published in these regions, helpful for area studies and focused research on scholarly output in the localities. These include:

  1.  Australia & New Zealand Database
  2.  Continental Europe Database
  3.  East & South Asia Database
  4.  East & Central Europe Database
  5.  India Database
  6.  Middle East & African Database
  7.  Latin America & Iberia Database
  8.  Turkey Database
  9.  UK & Ireland Database

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: