Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Women's Magazine Archive: About

Subject Coverage

  • Consumer culture
  • Economics / marketing
  • Family life
  • Fashion
  • Gender studies
  • Health and fitness
  • Home / interior design
  • Popular culture
  • Social history

Images from Women's Magazine Archive

About Women's Magazine Archive

Women’s Magazine Archive Collection 1

Women’s Magazine Archive Collection 1, launched in September 2015, comprises archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines of the twentieth century. All feature deep backfiles, with some extending back to the nineteenth century. At launch, 25% of content was loaded; on completion (expected mid-2016) the collection will offer approximately 850,000 pages, scanned in full color.

The title list for the collection is:

  • Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
  • Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
  • Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
  • Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005)
  • Parents (1926 to 2005)
  • Redbook (1903 to 2005)

All of these titles were published monthly and the length of backfile ranges from 78 years to 123 years; each provides a rich seam of material attesting to changing social, historical and cultural trends over a period of many decades.


Women’s Magazine Archive Collection 2

Women’s Magazine Archive Collection 2 , launched in September 2016, features six leading consumer magazines and will total approximately 850,000 pages on completion.

As well as offering major, high-circulating general women’s interest titles, such as Woman’s Day, it will build on the Women's Magazine Archive 1 by including some titles focusing on more specific audiences and themes.  Cosmopolitan and Seventeen, for example, are oriented towards a younger readership, while black women’s interests are represented by EssenceWomen’s International Network News differs in being a more political, activist title, with an international dimension.

The title list is:

  • Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
  • Essence (1970 to 2005)
  • Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
  • Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
  • Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
  • Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)