Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Early English Books Online (EEBO) sur la plateforme ProQuest

Définitions des caractéristiques

Dans Early English Books Online, la recherche par caractéristiques permet aux utilisateurs de trouver des documents qui contiennent des exemples de 14 différents types de caractéristiques spéciales (énumérés ci-dessous). 

Définitions des caractéristiques du document:

Chart: Page présentant des informations sous forme graphique ou tabulaire - Diagramme
Coat of arms:

Emblème symbolique comportant des signes héraldiques, généralement constitué d'un ornement et d'une devise - Armoiries

Form: Page comportant des espaces vierges à remplir à la main, généralement utilisée à des fins juridiques ou religieuses - Formulaire 
Genealogical table: Représentation graphique de la descendance d'une famille, sous forme de tableau - Arbre généalogique
Illustration: Toute représentation graphique qui n'est pas spécifiquement répertoriée dans les autres descriptions - Illlustration 
Map: Représentation, normalement à l'échelle et sur un support plat, d'une sélection de caractéristiques matérielles ou abstraites de ou en rapport avec la surface de la Terre ou d'un autre corps céleste - Carte 
Musical notation: Partition d'un morceau de musique entier ou partiel, (ex: portée, clé, notes, etc...) - Partition de musique 
Plan: Dessin présentant des positions relatives sur un plan horizontal (ex. positions relatives des parties d'un bâtiment, architecture paysagiste, représentation graphique d'une manœuvre militaire) - Plan
Plate: Elément inséré dans la numérotation et les signatures normales du livre. Il est soit non numéroté, soit il a sa propre numérotation distincte. La planche se présente d'un seul côté, parfois sous la forme d'un dépliant, et l'autre côté de la page est souvent vierge - Planche
Portrait: Image d'une personne ou d'un groupe de personnes - Portrait
Printers' marks - Colophon: Insigne ou marque décorative identifiant l'imprimeur à la fin d'un ouvrage - Marque typographique - Colophon
Printers' marks – title page: Insigne ou marque décorative identifiant l'imprimeur sur la page d'un titre d'un ouvrage - Marque typographique - Page de titre 
Symbols Formules scientifiques et mathématiques, symboles astrologiques - Symbole
Title page borders Éléments décoratifs (fréquemment répétés) qui contiennent les informations de la page de titre - Bordures de page de titre

Série d'introductions de EEBO

The EEBO Introductions Series offre aux chercheurs un espace pour l'échange d'informations et d'idées concernant certains des textes imprimés modernes anciens les moins fréquemment discutés dans Early English Books Online.

Chaque contribution à la série offre un aperçu d'un éventail de questions contextuelles, bibliographiques et de réception liées à un travail de EEBO.

L'analyse du contenu basée sur la réception permet aux chercheurs de quantifier comment les différents publics comprendront le texte. 

Les liens ci-dessous donnent accès à vingt et une présentations. Chaque introduction propose des liens vers les images des documents de EEBO sur les travaux en cours de discussion et vers d'autres ressources en ligne connexes. Les liens vers chacune des introductions ci-dessous sont fournis dans le contexte de l'affichage des documents complèts, des images de documents, des illustrations et des vignettes de EEBO pour le travail en question, et accompagnent également les entrées pertinentes sur l'affichage des résultats de recherche de EEBO.

Le rédacteur en chef de la série est Edward Wilson-Lee du Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge.

Abréviations des champs Nom de l'auteur

Liste des Abbréviations

Les abréviations suivantes sont largement utilisées dans EEBO (en particulier dans le champ Nom de l'auteur) et dans d'autres bases de données bibliographiques :

b born; utilisé en combinaison avec une date pour indiquer une date de naissance, ex:. Anderson, Henry, b. 1581 or 2
c. or ca. circa, signifiant "environ" ou "au moment approximatif de"; utilisé en combinaison avec une date présumée approximative dans les formulaires de noms, ex:. Digby, Everard, ca. 1551-1605, et dans l'information bibliographique ex: Imprynted at London in Fletestrete, at the signe of the y[e] George: by wyllyam Middylton, [c. 1545]
d. died; utilisé en combinaison avec une date pour indiquer l'année du décès, ex: Hart, John, d. 1574
D. D. Divinitatis Doctor, or 'Doctor of Divinity'
fl. floruit, signifiant "prospère"; used as an alternative to dates of birth and/or death to indicate the period during which a given individual is known to have been alive and active e.g. Hart, Alexander, fl. 1640

Bibliographies complètes référencées dans le champ Numéro Inventaire/Bibliographique

Références complètes aux abréviations dans le champ Numéro d'inventaire/numéro bibliographique

screenshot of the Accession/Bibliographic nr field in the details display

 

STCI

Allison, Anthony Francis, and D. M. Rogers. The contemporary printed literature of the English Counter-Reformation between 1558 and 1640: an annotated catalogue. 1989-94.

Beale, Joseph Henry. A bibliography of early English law books. 1926.

Bosanquet, Eustace F. English printed almanacks and prognostics: a bibliographical history to the year 1600. 1986.

Cambridge University Library. A catalogue of the fifteenth-century printed books in the University Library, Cambridge. 1954.

Case, Arthur E. A bibliography of English poetical miscellanies, 1521 - 1750. 1970.

Dahl, Folke. A bibliography of English corantos and periodical newsbooks, 1620-1942. 1977.

Duff, E. Gordon. Fifteenth century English books: a bibliography of books and documents printed in England and of books for the English market printed abroad. 1978.

Gibson, Reginald Walter. Francis Bacon: A bibliography of his works and of Baconiana to the year 1750. 1950.

Greg, W. W. A bibliography of the English printed drama to the Restoration. 1970.

  • a. v.1 Stationers' records; plays to 1616: nos. 1-349.
  • b. v.2 Plays; 1617-1689: nos. 350-836. Latin plays. Lost plays.

Halket, Samuel, and John Laing. Dictionary of anonymous and pseudonymous English literature. 1971.

Hazlitt, William Carew. Bibliography of early English literature. 1961.

Henrey, Blanche. British botanical and horticultural literature before 1800: comprising a history and bibliography of botanical and horticultural books printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the earliest times until 1800. 1975.

Herbert, Arthur Sumner. Historical catalogue of printed editions of the English Bible, 1525-1961. 1968.

Hind, Arthur Mayger. Engraving in England in the sixteenth & seventeenth centuries; a descriptive catalogue with introductions. 2000.

Johnstone, James Fowler Kellas. Bibliographia aberdonensis : being an account of books relating to or printed in the shires of Aberdeen, Banff, Kincardine or written by natives or residents or by officers, graduates or alumni of the universities of Aberdeen. 1930.

Keynes, Geoffrey. A bibliography of Dr. John Donne, Dean of Saint Paul's. 1973.

Lemon, Robert. Catalogue of a collection of printed broadsides: in the possession of the Society of Antiquaries of London. 1866.

Madan, Falconer M.A. Oxford Books: A bibliography of printed works relating to the university and city of oxford or printed there. 1895-1931.

  • a. v.1 The early oxford press, 1468-1640.
  • b. v.3 Oxford literature, 1651-1680.

McKerrow, Ronald B. Printers' and publishers' devices in England and Scotland, 1485-1640. 1949.

Oates, J. C. T. Cambridge books of congratulatory verses, 1603-1640. 1953.

Pforzheimer, Carl Howard. The Carl H. Pforzheimer library: English literature, 1475-1700. 1940.

Pollard, A. W. and G. W. Redgrave. Second edition, revised & enlarged. Begun by W. A. Jackson & F. S. Ferguson. Completed by Katharine F. Pantzer. A Short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English books printed abroad: 1475-1640.

  • a. v.1: A-H. The Bibliographical Society, 1986
  • b. v.2: I-Z. The Bibliographical Society, 1976

Steele, Robert. Tudor and Stuart proclamations 1485-1714. Calendared by Robert Steele under the direction of the Earl of Crawford. 1910.

 

WING

Aldis, Harry Gidney. A list of books printed in Scotland before 1700: including those printed furth of the realm for Scottish booksellers, with bried notes on the printers and stationers. 1970.

Almack, Edward. A bibliography of the king's book or Eikon Basilike. 1896.

Arber, Edward. The term catalogues, 1668-1709 A.D...

Bristol Roger P. Supplement to Charles Evans' American bibliography. 1970.

Canney, Margaret, and David Knott. Catalogue of the Goldsmiths' Library of economic literature: volume I. Printed books to 1800. 1970.

Church, Elihu Dwight. A catalogue of books relating to the discovery and early history of North and South America forming a part of the library of E. D. Church. 1951.

Clarke, T. E. S., and H. C. Foxcroft. A life of Gilbert Burnet, bishop of Salisbury. I. Scotland, 1643-1674. 1907.

Cokayne, George Edward. The complete peerage of England Scotland Ireland Great Britain and the United Kingdom extant extinct or dormant. 1910.

Day, Cyrus Lawrence, and Eleanore Boswell Murrie. English song-books, 1651-1702: a bibliography with a firstline index of songs. 1977.

Evans, Charles. American bibliography: a chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the 1820. 1967.

Foxon, David F. English verse, 1701-1750: a catalogue of separately printed poems with notes on contemporary collected editions. 1975.

Gathorne-Hardy, Robert, and William Proctor Williams. A bibliography of the writings of Jeremy Taylor to 1700 with a section of Tayloriana. 1971.

Gillet, Charles Ripley. Catalogue of the McAlpin Collection of British history and theology. 1928.

  • a. v.3 1653-1679.

Guildhall Library. A list of books printed in the British Isles and of English books pritned abroad before 1701 in Guildhall Library. 1966.

  • a. Part 1. A-K.
  • b. Part 2. L-Z with addenda and concordance.

Hanson, L. W. Contemporary printed sources for British and Irish economic history 1701-1750. 1963.

Harvard University Library. Harvard Library Bulletin.

Hildeburn, Charles Swift Riche. A century of printing. The issues of the press in Pennsylvania, 1685-1784. 1886.

Horden. John. A bibliography of Francis Quarles. 1948.

Kress Library of Business and Economics. Catalogue, with data upon cognate items in other Harvard libraries. 1964.

Libri Walliae 2501. (see Rees)

MacDonald, Hugh. John Dryden: A bibliography of early editions and of Drydeniana. 1939.

Madan, Falconer M.A. Oxford Books: A bibliography of printed works relating to the university and city of oxford or printed there. 1895-1931.

  • a. v.2 Oxford literature, 1450-1640, and 1641-1650.

National Union Catalogue pre-1956.

Nelson, Carolyn, and Matthew Seccombe. British newspapers and periodicals, 1641-1700: a short-title catalogue of serials printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, and British America: with a checklist of serials printed 1701-March 1702 and chronological, geographical, foreign language, subject, publishers, and editor indexes, 1641-1702. 1987.

Phillips, Philip. A list of geographical atlases, 1909-1920.

Rees, Eiluned. Libri Walliae: National Library of Wales: A catalogue of Welsh books and books printed in Wales, 1546-1820. 1987.

Roberts, R. J. "A new Cambridge, N.E. imprint: The Catechisme of Edward Norris, 1649"

Sabin, Joseph. A dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time. 1966.

Shipton, Clifford Kenyon, and James E. Mooney. National index of American imprints through 1800: the short-title Evans. 1969.

Smith, Joseph. A descriptive catalogue of Friends' books, or Books written by members of the Society of Friends, commonly called Quakers, from their first rise to the present time, interspersed with critical remarks and ... biographical notices. 1970.

Smith, Joseph. Bibliotheca anti-Quakeriana, or A catalogue of books adverse to the Society of Friends, alphabetically arranged, with biographical notices of the authors. 1968.

Smith, George. The dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to 1900. 1922.

Wing, Donald. Short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America and of English books printed in other countries: 1641-1700, Second edition, newly revised and enlarged.

  • a. v. I:A1-E2926L. Revised and edited by John J. Morrison and Carolyn W. Nelson, Editors and Matthew Seccombe, Assistant Editor. The Modern Language Association of America, 1994.
  • b. v. II:E2927-O1000. Revised and edited by Timothy J. Crist with the assistance of Janice M. Hansel, Phebe A. Kirkham, Jeri S. Smith, and others. The Modern Language Association of America, 1982.
  • c. v. III:P1-Z28. Revised and edited by John J. Morrison, Editor; Carolyn W. Nelson, Assistant Editor with the assistance of Matthew Seccombe, Mark E. English, and Harold E. Selesky. The Modern Language Association of America, 1988.

Winship, George Parker. The Cambridge press, 1638-1692; a reexamination of the evidence concerning the Bay Psalm book and the Eliot Indian Bible as well as other contemporary books and people. 1968.

Woodward, Gertrude L., and James G. McManaway. A checklist of English plays 1641-1700. 1945.

Bibliothèques Source

Liste de plus de 200 bibliothèques participantes

Abbotsford Library

National Library of Medicine

Aberdeen City Charter Room

National Library of Scotland

Aberdeen University Library

National Library of Wales

American Antiquarian Society Library

New College Library, University of Edinburgh

Arnold Arboretum Society Library, Harvard University

New College Library, University of Oxford

Balliol College Library, University of Oxford

New York Public Library

Bamburgh Library, University of Durham

Newberry Library

Beineke Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Newcastle upon Tyne Libraries

Bevan-Naish Collection

  Norwich Public Library

Bible Societys Library

Oriel College Library, University of Oxford

Bibliothèque nationale de France

Oscott College Library

Biddle Law Library, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Osler Library of the History of Medicine, McGill University

Birmingham Central Libraries

Parker Library, Corpus Christi College, University of Cambridge

Blairs College Library

Patent Office Library

Bodleian Library

Pembroke College Library, University of Cambridge

Bolton Library, University of Limerick

Pepys Library, Magdalene College, University of Cambridge

Boston Public Library

Peterborough Cathedral Library and Archives

Bristol Public Libraries

Peterhouse College Library, University of Cambridge

British Library

Pierpont Morgan Library

British Museum

Presbyterian Historical Society

Burke Library, Union Theological Seminary

Princeton Theological Seminary Library

Burney Collection, British Library

Princeton University Library

California State Library

Private Collection

Cambridge University Library

Public Record Office

Cardiff Central Library

Queens College Library, University of Cambridge

Carl H. Pforzheimer Library

Queens College, London, Library

Chethams Library

Radcliffe Camera

Christ Church Library, University of Oxford

Regents Park College Library, University of Oxford

Christs College Library, University of Cambridge

Royal College of Music Library

Codrington Library, All Souls College, University of Oxford

Royal College of Physicians of London Library

Columbia University Libraries

Royal College of Surgeons of England Library

Congregational Library

Royal Institute of British Architects Library

Cornell University Libraries

Royal Irish Academy Library

Corpus Christi College Library, University of Oxford

Royal Observatory Edinburgh

Countway Library of Medicine

Rutgers University Library

Crawford Collections, National Library of Scotland

Selwyn College Library, University of Cambridge

Dartmouth College Library

Sidney Sussex College Library, University of Cambridge

Department of Special Collections, Kenneth Spencer Research Library

Signet Library

Detroit Public Library

Sion College Library

Dr. Williamss Library

Society of Antiquaries Library

Dublin City Public Libraries and Archive

St. Catharines College Library, University of Cambridge

Dublin City Public Libraries, Pearse Street Branch

St. Edmund Hall Library, University of Oxford

Duke University Libraries

St. Edmunds College Library, Ware

Dulwich College Library

St. Hughs College Library, University of Oxford

Dundee University Library

St. Johns College Library, University of Cambridge

Durham Cathedral Library

St. Johns College Library, University of Oxford

Durham University Library

St. Pauls Cathedral Library

Earlham College Library

St. Scholasticas Abbey, Teignmouth

Edinburgh University Library

Stonyhurst College Library

Ely Cathedral Library

Sutro Library

Emmanuel College Library, University of Cambridge

Swarthmore College Library

English Faculty Library, University of Oxford

The Goldsmiths Company Library

Eton College Library

The Honourable Society of Kings Inns Library

Exeter College Library, University of Oxford

The Huntington Library

F.S. Ferguson, London

The John Carter Brown Library, Brown University

Finedon

The John Crerar Library, University of Chicago

Fitzwilliam Museum Reference Library

The John Rylands Library, University of Manchester

Folger Shakespeare Library

The Library Company of Philadelphia

G.B. Evans Collection, Harvard University Library

The McGowin Library, Pembroke College, University of Oxford

Glasgow Public Libraries

The Mitchell Library

Goldsmiths Library of Economic Literature

The Morley Library, Winchester Cathedral

Goldsmiths Library, University of London

The Queens College Library, University of Oxford

Gonville & Caius College Library, University of Cambridge

The Royal Society, London

Guildhall Library

Thomason Collection, British Library

Haigh Hall Library

Trinity College Dublin Library

Harris Manchester College Library, University of Oxford

Trinity College Library, University of Cambridge

Harvard Law School Library

Trinity College Library, University of Oxford

Harvard University Library

Trinity Hall Library, University of Cambridge

Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library

U.S. National Weather Service

Haverford College Libraries

Universität Göttingen Bibliothek

Hereford Cathedral Library

University College Library, University of Oxford

Hertford College Library, University of Oxford

University of Alabama Library

Heythrop College Library, University of London

University of Birmingham Library

Houghton Library, Harvard University

University of Chicago Library

Hunterian Collection, University of Glasgow

University of Glasgow Library

Ireland Public Record Office

University of Illinois Library

Jesuits in Britain Archive

University of Liverpool Library

Jesus College Library, University of Cambridge

University of London Library

Jesus College Library, University of Oxford

University of Michigan Law Library

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, Bodleian Library

University of Michigan Library

John R. Hetherington Collection, University of Birmingham

University of Minnesota Law Library

Keble College Library, University of Oxford

University of Minnesota Library

Keynes Collection, Cambridge University Library

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Library

Kings College Library, Durham University

University of Oxford Archives

Kings College Library, University of Cambridge

University of Pennsylvania Library

Kress Collection, Harvard Business School

University of Sheffield Library

Lambeth Palace Library

University of St. Andrews Library

Lampeter Library - University of Wales Trinity Saint David

University of Texas at Austin Library

Leeds University Library

University of Toronto Library

Library of Congress

University of Virginia Library

Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary

University of Wisconsin-Madison Library

Library of the Society of Friends

Ushaw College Library, University of Durham

Lillian Goldman Law Library

Wadham College Library, University of Oxford

Lincoln College Library, University of Oxford

Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine Library

Lincolns Inn Library

Westminster Abbey Library

Longleat Library and Archives

Westminster College Library, University of Cambridge

Magdalen College Library, University of Oxford

William Andrews Clark Memorial Library

Magdalene College Library, University of Cambridge

William L. Clements Library

Manchester Central Library

William Salt Library

Marshs Library

Williams College Library

Massachusetts Historical Society Library

Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre

Medical Society of London Library

Worcester College Library, University of Oxford

Merton College Library, University of Oxford

Yale Center for British Art

Middle Temple Library

Yale Divinity School Library

National Art Library Dyce Collection, Victoria and Albert Museum

Yale University Library

National Art Library Forster Collection, Victoria and Albert Museum

York Minster Library

National Art Library, Victoria and Albert Museum

Zentralbibliothek Zürich

National Library of Ireland