Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Art and Architecture Archive: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's Art and Architecture Archive including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

AAA the 2 thematic collections

AAA: Art & Photography

Title

Start year

End year

American Craft

1941

2005

Antique Collector

1930

1996

Aperture

1952

2005

Apollo

1925

2005

Art and AsiaPacific

1993

2005

Art Monthly

1976

2005

Bead Journal

1974

1978

Border Crossings

1977

2015

British Journal of Photography

1860

2005

C Magazine

1985

2005

Ceramics Technical

1995

2005

Connoisseur

1901

1992

Goya

1954

2015

Make

1983

2002

Ornament

1979

2005

Popular Photography

1937

2015

Professional Artist

1986

2015

Sculpture

1982

2005

Southwest Art

1973

2005

Studio potter

1972

2015

Surface

1994

2015

WomanCraft

1972

2015


AAA: Architecture & Design

Title

Start Year

End Year

Architects' Journal, The

1906

2005  **

Architectural Review, The

1896

2005

Building Design

1969

2014

Canadian Architect

1955

2005

Casabella

1928

2015

Contract

1960

2015

Crit.

1976

2015

Eye: the International Review of Graphic Design

1991

2005

Frame

1998

2015

Graphis

1944

2005

Hospitality Design : HD

1979

2015

House Beautiful

1989

2015

How

1985

2015

I D

1954

2010

Mark

2005

2015

Preservation

1949

2015

Print

1940

2005

** 1908-1928 excluded due to rights restrictions


Art & Architecture Archive Collection 2  has now launched.

• 21 new trade and consumer magazines for the Art & Architecture Archive program
• Approximately 850K pp. in total at completion
• Like the original Art & Architecture Archive, subject coverage spans wide variety of sub-disciplines in the arts/photography and architecture/design.
• Coverage by default from issue 1 through to 2015, with cover to cover scanning in color*
 
There is initially content from 11 of the 21 titles that comprise Collection 2: Building Design, Casabella, Connoisseur, Crit, Frame, Goya, Preservation, ID [Industrial Design], Mark, Popular Photography, Studio Potter.

The default termination date for Collection 2 titles is 2015 (compared to 2005 for Collection 1).

* Due to the rarity of source print issues, there will be small gaps (issues/pages) in some publication runs

What is the Art and Architecture Archive?

Art and Architecture Archive (AAA) is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects. The magazines cover the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and presented in page image format with fully searchable text.

The high-quality reproduction and easy discoverability of all images contained in the original issues will allow scholars, students, and practitioners of fine art to draw inspiration from the many artworks displayed in visual arts titles such as Apolloand Art Monthly. They may also study features and reviews revealing the contemporary reception of specific works.

Trade magazines, widely recognized as indispensable sources for art and architecture, are also strongly represented. Research materials and technical guidance are available to those working in areas including graphic design, construction, and product design, in publications such as Print,Architectural Review, and Graphics, respectively.

In combination, the consumer magazines and the trade publications comprise an invaluable reference source, as a historical record of the art and architecture industries. Through reviews, advertisements, exhibition listings, and awards, users may trace the careers of major artists and architects, as well as the history of the commercialization and marketing of art.

Art and Architecture Archive also serves wider research in the humanities and social sciences, with sociologists and historians, for example, able to locate primary sources attesting to the relationship between art movements and social trends.

The ability to cross-search these magazine backfiles within a single database creates an unrivalled opportunity for researchers to locate a comprehensive body of primary source material relating to particular individuals, topics and movements, across a variety of publications and document types. A single search may return industry news items, interviews with major artists, and features about technological developments, as well as photographs / illustrations, architectural plans, statistics, and reviews.

Subject Coverage

  • Art - Architecture - Fine Art
  • Photography - Studio Art - Decorative & Visual Arts
  • Architectural, Art, Cultural, Economic, Social History - Art Trade
  • Graphic, Industrial, Interior Design

Content Updates in Support Center

Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:

ProQuest Literature and Arts Databases Content Updates

once in the article, click on   to be emailed every time the article is updated.


Publication Coverage - Collections 1 and 2

All titles are full-text and archival in nature. Policy is to include every issue in full, from the first through to 2005 for Collection 1 and to 2015 for Collection 2, or the publication ceased date (whichever is first). Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in the runs of some publications.

Collection 1

  • American Craft (1979-2005)
  • Aperture (1952-2005)
  • Apollo (1925-2005)
  • The Architects' Journal (1929-2005)
  • The Architectural Review (1896-2005)
  • Art and AsiaPacific (1993-2005)
  • Art Monthly (1976-2005)
  • The Bead Journal (1974-1978)
  • The British Journal of Photography (1860-2005)
  • C Magazine - iterations include:
    • C: A Critical Visual Art Magazine (1983-1986)
    • C Magazine (1986-1987, 1992-2005)
  • The Canadian Architect (1955-2005)
  • Ceramics Technical (1995-2005)
  • Craft Horizons - iterations include:
    • Craft Horizons (1941-1978)
    • Craft Horizons with Craft World (1978-1979)
  • Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design (1991-2005)
  • Graphis (1944-2005)
  • Ornament (1979-2005)
  • Print (1940-2005)
  • Sculptors International (1982-1985)
  • Sculpture (1987-2005)
  • Southwest Art (1973-2005)

Collection 2

  • Antique Collector (1930-1996)
  • Border Crossings (1977-2015)
  • Building Design (1969-2014)
  • Casabella (1928-2015)
  • Connoisseur (1901-1992)
  • Contract (1960-2015)
  • Crit. (1976-2015)
  • Frame (1998-2015)
  • Goya (1954-2015)
  • Hospitality Design : HD (1979-2015)
  • House Beautiful (1989-2015)
  • How (1985-2015)
  • I D (1954-2010)
  • Make (1982-2002)
  • Mark (2005-2015)
  • Popular Photography (1937-2015)
  • Preservation (1949-2015)
  • Professional Artist (1986-2015)
  • Studio potter (1972-2015)
  • Surface (1994-2015)
  • WomanCraft (1972-2015)

Please Note: Country Life is now a standalone database, including:

  • Country Life Illustrated (1897-1901)
  • Country Life (1901-2005)

Art & Architecture Archive documents