Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Health services
- Mental health services
- Social work
- Substance abuse
- Dissertations & Theses
- Scholarly Journals
- Trade Journals
What is the Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) ?
The Applied Social Sciences Index Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals.
More about the Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
ASSIA contains records from over 500 journals published in 19 different countries.
ASSIA is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions – whether the members of those professions are practitioners, researchers or students. It is unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
The core disciplines to support practice are covered in depth, and so central areas of coverage in ASSIA are:
- Social problems like poverty and overcrowding, abuse, crime and violence, disease and disability, mental illness and addiction, racism and sexism, inequality and discrimination.
- Social and psychological issues concerning drugs, gender, women and the family, education and employment, housing, migration, child and adolescent development, ageing, citizenship, ethnicity and nationality.
- Health care, therapy, nursing and midwifery: policy, professions and practices.
- The social services, including social work, welfare, counseling and probation, and the police and prison services.
Live Webinars & Recordings
View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
ProQuest Platform Screencasts