Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black Studies Center is migrating to the ProQuest Platform!
ProQuest is pleased to inform you that Black Studies Center will be moving from its legacy Chadwyck-Healey interface, to the powerful, newly-enhanced ProQuest Platform, starting in April 2021!
Dual access will start in April 2021 and is expected to last through the end of August 2021!
Here is the link to our Support Center article.
Live Webinars & Recordings
View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at email@example.com.
There are several parts, or modules, in the Black Studies Center.
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
30 scholarly overviews on Black Studies themes including: theory, methodology, and pedagogy; ideology, identity and assumptions; the Black Condition; origins; cultural life; and social justice. Each overview includes: full-text, linked readings, Images, a glossary and a timeline.
International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)
IIBP is the only periodical database of current titles pertaining to black studies and culture available today. It also has the largest backfile of retrospective bibliographic citations for black periodicals from as early as 1902. IIBP covers journals and magazines from the United States, African nations, and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. The only current periodical database devoted to Black Studies. Index coverage starts in 1902 and full text coverage begins in 1998 with 330+ titles and 144 full-text titles
Chicago Defender backfiles
Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender. Coverage is from 1910 to 1975.
Black Literature Index
Black Studies Center includes the online index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a collection which is one of the most significant research efforts in African American studies. This index allows users to search more than 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. Many of the works were published in black newspapers, and citations from The Chicago Defender are linked to the full-text page article. Links to more literary works in other ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk New Journal and Guide, and Pittsburgh Courier can also be enabled for purchasers of those titles.
The ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies module contains a thousand doctoral dissertations and Masters' theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies. Included are dissertations written between 1970 and 2004 at more than 100 universities and colleges across the United States.
Black Abolitionist Papers
Black Abolitionist Papers (1830-1865) is an extraordinary, primary source collection and the first to comprehensively detail the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.
Black Studies Center™ is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
The Black Studies Center™ delivers primary and secondary source content from a selection of trusted sources, and integrates them in a single cross-searchable gateway on the Chadwyck-Healey platform.