Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Agricultural and natural resource economics
- Business administration and business
- Country studies
- Economic development, technological change, and growth
- Economic history
- Financial economics
- General economics and teaching
- Health, education, and welfare
- Industrial organization
- International economics
- Labor and demographic economics
- Law and economics
- Macroeconomics and monetary economics
- Mathematical and quantitative methods
- Methodology and history of economic thought
- Public economics
- Urban, rural, and regional economics
- Book Review
- Collective Volume Article
- Journal Article
- Working Paper
What is EconLit?
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Literature covered is of interest to researchers, academics, product managers, advertisers, product development specialists, and public policy professionals. EconLit includes information that is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments world-wide.
Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) since 1993. The database also includes links to full-text of some 40,000 working papers in economics.
Seven types of resources are indexed in EconLit
- Journal Articles: The number of journals indexed in EconLit has grown from 182 periodicals in 1969 to over 750 journals today. Journals are selected for inclusion in EconLit on the basis of their economic content, which must be substantial or of equal emphasis in interdisciplinary journals.
- Books: EconLit includes abstracts of published books over 60 pages with economic content from the Annotated Listing of New Books section of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL). Coverage begins with books annotated in the 1987 JEL issues.
- Collective Volume Articles: EconLit indexes articles (chapters) in collective works, conference proceedings, collections of essays on a particular topic, papers from research projects, collections of papers by a single author, and Festschrift volumes (articles collected in honour of a distinguished person).
- Dissertations: Dissertations appear in the database beginning with the year 1987.
- Working Papers in Economics: EconLit is collaborating with the RePEc Project (Research Papers in Economics) to include records in EconLit from the decentralized RePEc database of working papers.
- Full-text Book Reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL): Book review records on EconLit include ISBN numbers, and book reviews are classified using the same subject descriptors that appear on the book record.
Live Webinars & Recordings
ProQuest Platform Screencasts
Journals are selected for inclusion in EconLit on the basis of their economic content, which must be substantial or of equal emphasis in interdisciplinary journals. Documents from other publication types are chosen for inclusion through similarly rigorous methods.
To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:
View the latest title list and publication coverage here.