ProQuest Historical Periodicals

The News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive offers unprecedented digital access to the archives of leading consumer magazines of the 20th century relating to political history, current events, public policy, international relations, and more. 15 major 20th-21st-century magazine archives from News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive cover such fields as the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations, with the earliest content dating from 1918. It comprises approximately 700,000 full color page images and each article is individually indexed with fully searchable text. This collection provides unique primary source insights into 20th-century political history, delivering valuable material for researchers in fields ranging from modern history and politics, through to economics, law and many more.

Each title has a deep backfile and issues, from the first through to recent times, are scanned from cover to cover in full color.^* Central to this collection is the archive of Newsweek, one of the 20th century’s most prominent, highest circulating general interest magazines.

In combination these publications provide access to a rich seam of contemporary responses to the key events, trends, and preoccupations of the period, from a range of perspectives. In addition to the representation of various political and religious orientations, the collection is international in scope. Alongside leading US publications such as Newsweek and In These Times are magazines that are published outside of North America and/or are engaged with international affairs, such as Europe, New Internationalist, and NATO Review.

* Our policy is to include every issue in full, from the first to the end of the 2015 publication year. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there small gaps (issues or pages) for some publications. Page-level completeness for this collection is approximately 99.65%

Basic Search

A user wants to read news coverage of the end of World War II.

• TYPE:  world war ii
• CLICK:  search
• Using the date filter on the left side of search results, either use the slider bars to limit to the 1940s, and then to 1945, or use the option to Enter a Date Range (note date formatting).
• SORT: by Oldest first to review results in chronological order.

Advanced Search

A user wants to find out about the ideas behind UNESCO World Heritage sites. Using two boxes on the Advanced Search form:

• In the 1st box TYPE: unesco world heritage
• In the 2nd box TYPE: organizing ideas or ideas or formation
• CLICK:  Search
• Use sorting by RELEVANCE to review results.

Publications Search

A users wants to read coverage of the Schengen Agreement (measures intended to abolish border checks at the signatories' common borders) in Europe magazine.

• CLICK on Publication search
• SCROLL to find Europe. CLICK on title
• SCROLL past publication information to Search within this publication.
• TYPE:  Schengen Agreement
• CLICK:  Search
• SORT: by Oldest first to review results in chronological order