Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Natural Science Collection

Searchable Fields

An accessible version of the Searchable Fields table is available below.

 


Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
Abstract  AB AB(habitat destruction)

Search terms in the abstract.
Anywhere   drone    

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record.
Anywhere except full text NOFT ALL(seed oil)     

Searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.
Author AU AU(Olabarria, Celia)     

Finds documents written by a particular author. Use the Look Up list to verify the various formats of the same name. 
Author Affiliation AF AF(Oxford)   

The authors institution (university, company, organization).
Cited Author CAU CAU(Luo)

Searches for cited author.
Company/Organization  ORG ORG(American Farm Bureau Federation)   

Searches for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article. 
Conference CF CF(nutrition society)       

 This field provides the name of the conference and where and when it occurred. All these words are   searchable, but for faster retrieval, ignore the common words such as "annual" or "annu" or "meeting" and search for the distinctive elements only.
Digital Object Identifiers DOI DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)      

Searches for documents with DOIs using the DOI search. It is a unique identifier assigned to a document that is registered through the International DOI Foundation.
Document Number AN AN(8362482)       

Searches both the ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID (applied to some databases).
Document Text FT FT("toxic waste")    

Searches for keywords in the body of the article.  Use quotation marks around multi-word phrases to ensure the most accurate results.
Document Title TI TI(chlorella vulgaris production enhancement)    

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.
Document Type DType DType(article)   

Finds specific document types such as article, news, conference, report, etc.
Editor ED ED(Brian, J)  

Used to search Scientific coordinator.
Identifier (keyword) IF IF(sedimentology)

To search keywords, or identifiers, or vernacular terms of species.
International Standard Serials Number ISSN ISSN(00014788)     

Looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.
Issue ISS ISS(11)     

Searches the issue number of a resource. 
Language  LA LA(Spanish)       

Original language of the document. 
Location as Subject LOC LOC(London)     

Specific geographic area or location.
MeSH Subjects MESH MESH(intervention studies)

MeSH stands for Medical Subject Heading and is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. Any record with MeSH subjects means that the record is indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.  When a record has MeSH subjects assigned to it, you will often see ProQuest Subjects assigned to it as well. The ProQuest subjects appear in the Subject Heading (All) field.
Monograph Title MT MT(Farming with grass)

Finds articles mentioning a specific product.
Original Title OTI OTI(Charakterisierung thermisch behandelter Milchproteine)  

This is where a foreign-language title might be displayed, if the article included both an English and a foreign-language title.
Person as Subject PER PER(Carter, Jimmy)    

Use to find articles about a person.
Place of Publication CP CP(New York) 

Use to locate articles published in a specific place. This will search for the city and county of publication.
Product Name NP NP(ScanControl) 

Use to find articles about a specific product.
Publication Date PD PD(20071020)     

Specific publication date. 
Publication Title PUB PUB(cell biology)     

Specific publication or publications.
References REF REF(Wiegelmann, Thomas)       

Looks for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title). 
Report RP RP(aiaa paper 2005-6919)     

Finds report numbers. 
Source type SType STYPE(report)     

Finds pecific source types such as books, newspapers or scholarly journals. 
Subject Heading(All) SU SU(habitat)  

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. It will retrieve anything to do with the subject keyword being searched. For example, doing a search for the subject heading of “habitat”, it would find articles if the subject was habitat, habitat selection, habitat factors or habitat improvement.  Searching the SU field will also include a search in the single fields Keyword/identifier (IF) and Taxonomic term (OTX or TXTERM).
Taxonomic Term TXTERM TXTERM(Peregrinus maidis)

Search for a field of science that encompasses description, identification, nomenclature, and classification. 
Volume VO VO(100)    

Volume of a resource.