ProQuest One Applied & Life Sciences

Improved interface with streamline access to the following collections:

• Advanced Technologies & Computer Science Collection
• Biological Science Collection
• Engineering Collection
• Materials Science Collection

New browsing carousels for a variety of content types, including:

• Scholarly journals
• Magazines, news and other Sources
• Trade Journals, Conference Papers and Preprint

Topic pages for all 17 of the UN’s Sustainability Goals
 

Topic Pages offer an overview with links to related subjects and curated resources like articles, videos, and books.

• Quickly understand a topic
• Research it more deeply
• Explore it in its wider context
• Understand relationships between different topics

ProQuest One Applied & Life Sciences contains the following A&I databases:

• Materials Science Index:
  • Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications.
  • In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses,corrosion, performance and recycling.
• Engineering Index:
  • A&I coverage from the engineering literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
• Advanced Technology and Aerospace Index:
  • Coverage of more than 3,000 periodicals covering diverse hightech and aerospace domains, including communications and navigation, lasers, fluid mechanics, mathematics and computers.
  • Additionally includes extensive collections of patent and conference information.
• Biological Science Index:
  • In-depth A&I coverage in biological sciences and over two dozen related disciplines, featuring abstracts and citations from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more.

ProQuest One Applied & Life Sciences provides various thesauri for locating distinct topical content through controlled vocabulary. You will have a choice of the ProQuest Thesaurus, which provides a controlled vocabulary across all ProQuest databases, or other science focused thesauri, which are available in specific databases and collections. To access, click the Thesaurus link above the search fields in Advanced Search.

Click the link to a thesaurus to access. Here we choose Technology Thesaurus.

Once you search a term, such as Artificial Intelligence, you will have a scrollable list of results.  Those terms with a checkbox are official terms that are indexed.  Other terms point to officially indexed terms. Click a term in the list to see available narrower, broader, and related terms. Notes provide more information about a term and may show additional related terms. Select your term or terms, choose to combine them with OR, AND or NOT, and Add to Search.