Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Academic Video Online: Overview

Overview of the database with links to guides and tutorials

Academic Video Online (AVON) provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. 

The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films,  Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.  

The  embedable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.

*territorial restrictions apply

Subject Areas

 

Academic Video Online covers many discipline and subject areas, with specific strengths in: 

Content Providers

The collection includes tens of thousands of exclusive tiles and represents content from more than 1,500 leading distributors, producers, and filmmakers. Some of the top names include 60 MINUTES / CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Intelecom, Insight Media, Microtraining, Filmakers Library, Envision, Inc., Stanley Milgram, Dallas Telecourses, Davidson Films, VEA, Bloomberg, The Open University , and Annenberg Learner.  

Major exclusive partnerships include Insight Media and Microtraining Associates; in addition there are thousands of titles from producers like the BBC and Danish Radio that are unique to Alexander Street