LibGuides: History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement.

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement. (Module 22)

This module supplements the original module of Federal Government records by adding civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies. The Ford administration records in this module consist of the subject files of J. Stanley Pottinger, who was the assistant attorney general in charge of the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department, which enforced civil rights laws, and the subject files of Anne R. Clarke, who was a special assistant in the Research Unit of the Civil Rights Division’s Sex Discrimination Program. The files of Pottinger and Clarke detail the implementation of federal civil rights law from 1973 through 1977 and thus are an important complement to the other Black Freedom modules that focus on the campaigns that led to the passage of landmark legislation like the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights of 1965. Records from the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library consist of the White House Office of Records Management Subject File on Human Rights and seven collections released as a result of Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The 7 FOIA collections cover affirmative action; Bob Jones University; busing and school desegregation; civil rights; fair housing; Martin Luther King Jr. Day; and the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1988, Grove City College and the Civil Rights Restoration Act, and the Voting Rights Act of 1982.

Civil Rights during the Ford Administration: Subject Files of Assistant Attorney General J. Stanley Pottinger (1973-1977) and Special Assistant Anne Clarke (1974-1977)

Association of American Colleges Project on the Status and Education of Women, with extensive discussion of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972
Oct 01, 1974 - Jun 01, 1977
Contains issues of "On Campus with Women"; table of Federal Laws and Regulations concerning Sex Discrimination in Educational Institutions; "Women working: Toward a new society" by Alan Pifer; and "Sex Discrimination against Students: Implications of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972" by Margaret C. Dunkle and Bernice Sandler.
Commission on Civil Rights sex discrimination files, including sex differentials in consumer credit, social security benefits, and tax allowances
Jan 01, 1971 - Dec 31, 1971
Contains "The Equal Rights Amendment: What's in It for Black Women?" by Frankie Muse Freeman; statement of Commission on Civil Rights on the Equal Rights Amendment; "A Guide to Federal Laws and Regulations Prohibiting Sex Discrimination"; "Sex Bias in the U.S. Code"; "Sex and Property: The Common Law Tradition, the Law School Curriculum and Developments Toward Equality," by John D. Johnston Jr., pp. 1033-1092 in New York University Law Review; "The Equal Rights Amendment Is Not the Way," by Paul A. Freund, pp. 233-242 in Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review; and "Taxes and Civil Rights: 'Constitutionalizing' the Internal Revenue Code," by Boris I. Bittker and Kenneth M. Kaufman, pp. 51-86 in Yale Law Review, vol. 82, no. 51, 1972.

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on Affirmative Action

Affirmative action employment topics and business set-asides
Mar 06, 1985 - Mar 07, 1985
Contains "Selected Affirmative Action Topics in Employment and Business Set-Aside."
Executive Order 11246 and possible changes affecting women, Hispanic Americans, people with disabilities, and federal contractor numerical hiring goals
Sep 30, 1985 - Oct 31, 1985
Contains Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities, Resolution concerning apartheid in South Africa, October 9, 1985.
Executive Order 11246 and possible revisions affecting federal contractor numerical hiring goals and women
Mar 11, 1986 - Oct 29, 1986
Contains Fort Worth, Texas, City Council Resolution, October 29, 1985.

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on Bob Jones University

Harvard University and Michael Deaver case study on press role in Bob Jones University tax exemption controversy, and Treasury Department tax-exempt policy
Jan 01, 1982 - Dec 31, 1984
Includes "Ronald Reagan and the Tax Exemption for Racist Schools" by David Whitman.
Senate Finance Committee hearing on legislation to deny tax exemption to racially discriminatory private schools, and cases of Bob Jones University v. U.S. and Goldsboro Christian Schools v. U.S.
Jan 01, 1982 - Dec 31, 1983
Correspondents include Orin G. Briggs and Peter J. Rusthoven.
White House reaction to private school tax-exempt status, legislation memoranda and summary, and text of tax exemption bill
Jan 01, 1982 - Dec 31, 1982
Includes Dan Rostenkowski speech to National Press Club; and additional correspondent M. B. Oglesby Jr.

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on Busing and School Desegregation

Peter J. Rusthoven files on Chicago school desegregation case
Jan 01, 1983 - Dec 31, 1983
Contains U.S. v. Board of Education of the City of Chicago opinion.
White House files on Chicago busing
Jan 01, 1981 - Dec 31, 1981
Contains "Summary of Initial Consideration: Pupil Assignment for Chicago School Desegregation," and material on U.S. v. Board of Education of the City of Chicago .
White House papers, writings, and case regarding school desegregation in Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jan 01, 1982 - Dec 31, 1982
Contains material on Davis v. East Baton Rouge Parish School Board with United States of America as intervener, and "A School Desegregation Plan for East Baton Rouge Parish" by Christine H. Rossell.

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on Civil Rights

Gay and lesbian rights
Aug 01, 1983 - Sep 30, 1983
Largely anti-gay rights materials, including a letter from The Conservative Caucus to Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Margaret Heckler on her "pandering to win votes from the homosexual community even at the risk of jeopardizing the health of the public at large."
LGBT rights efforts challenged and homosexuality case files of FBI
Jan 01, 1982 - Dec 31, 1983
Includes anti-gay newsletter review of Paul Weyrich's Free Congress Research and Education Foundation: "first political expose on the homosexual movement in America," and Alert Citizens of Texas pamphlet, "The Gay Plague: Homosexuality and Disease."
Presidential Commission on AIDS and objections to homosexual appointees
Jul 01, 1987 - Aug 31, 1987
Includes memorandum on President Reagan's choice of Cardinal John Joseph O'Connor to serve on Commission: Monsignor McCarthy advised "that the President should be aware of the gay community's dislike of the Cardinal. They stand during his masses in sign of protest."

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1988, Grove City College and the Civil Rights Restoration Act, and the Voting Rights Act of 1982

Civil Rights Restoration Act, presidential veto, and alternative bill
Mar 15, 1988 - Mar 16, 1988
Contains drafts of the presidential veto message and fact sheet about the Reagan administration's alternative bill.
Civil Rights Restoration Act, Reagan administration position, religious tenets, and disability definition
Jan 27, 1988 - Mar 30, 1988
Contains "What Does Grove City Mean? The Proponents Speak," quotations assembled by James J. Boulet Jr.
President Reagan's veto of S. 557 and proposed alternative in the Civil Rights Protection Act of 1988
Mar 14, 1988 - Mar 16, 1988
Contains numerous marked-up drafts of the president's veto message.

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Martin Luther King Jr. Day support from student petitioners
Jan 01, 1983 - Apr 30, 1983
Contains text of the president's radio address to the nation about Martin Luther King Jr. reception (January 15, 1983).
Martin Luther King Jr. Day proposal, Reagan administration response options, and the Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
Jan 01, 1983 - Jan 31, 1984
Contains 1982-1983 bulletin of the Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, providing faculty biographies.
Martin Luther King Jr. Day and Lester Maddox opposition
Aug 01, 1983 - Aug 31, 1983

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: FOIA Released Records on Fair Housing

Public housing projects for American Indians
Dec 01, 1983 - Dec 31, 1984
Public-private housing partnerships
Feb 06, 1984 - Jul 31, 1984
Report on successful public housing projects
May 23, 1983 - May 24, 1984
Ronald Reagan speech on Housing Fairness Month
Apr 10, 1984 - Apr 10, 1984

Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration: Subject File of the White House Office of Records Management, 1981-1989

Reagan administration correspondence on discrimination in employment
Dec 01, 1984 - Dec 31, 1984
Includes Human Rights Commission of San Francisco Lesbian/Gay Liaison Unit "Report on Sexual Orientation Discrimination."
Reagan administration correspondence on LGBT rights
May 01, 1983 - Aug 31, 1983
Includes Gay Press Association mailing list.
Reagan administration correspondence on liberation and democracy movements in Eastern Europe
Jul 01, 1971 - Jun 30, 1983
Includes Slovak-language newspaper clippings, and German-language correspondence and reports; and report, "The Common Security Interests of Japan, US and NATO," by Brian Crozier.