Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

History Vault: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Europe and Latin America

Content in this Module

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Europe and Latin America  (Module 26)

The U.S. State Department Central Files are an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the 20th century. Concentrating exclusively on those Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers, the Central Files in History Vault contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and countless translations of high-level foreign government documents.

The Central Files also illuminate the internal affairs of foreign countries. For each country there are files on important subjects: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government administration, fiscal and monetary issues, labor, housing, police and crime, public health, national defense, foreign policy-making, wars and alliances, education, religion, culture, trade, industry, natural resources, and more. The countries covered in this module on Europe and Latin America are Federal Republic of Germany; Germany; Soviet Union; Cuba; Mexico; Panama; and South America.

Europe

Latin America

Cuba- Central Files

The U.S. State Department Central Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. Surpassing the scope of the State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series, the Central Files provide extensive coverage of all political, military, social, and economic matters relating to a particular country and/or world event.

Cuba- Subject Numeric Files

The files are arranged according to the State Department Records Classification System, February 1963-1973. The subjects from the classification system included in this edition are AID (Foreign Economic Assistance), CSM (Communism), DEF (Defense Affairs), INT (Intelligence), and POL (Political Affairs and Relations). The files consist of cables and letters sent and received by U.S. diplomats and embassy personnel; reports on meetings between U.S. and foreign government officials and leaders; newspaper clippings and translations from journals and newspapers; and reports and observations on political, military, and social affairs.

Mexico-Central Files

This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, 1960-January 1963, Foreign Affairs contain documents and correspondence related to Mexico-U.S. relations and Mexican relations with other countries. The U.S. state Department Central files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century. This collection contains thousands of pages of primary documents, arranged topically and chronologically on many vital subjects, with a special focus on political relations between Mexico and other countries.

Mexico-Internal Affairs

This collection, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, 1960—January 1963; Internal Affairs, provides researchers with detailed, primary source historical information on the events and influences impacting Mexican domestic policy in the early 1960s.