Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Dialog: Home

Learn more about the ProQuest Dialog platform

About the ProQuest Dialog Platform

The ProQuest Dialog platform makes over 100 A&I (abstract & index) and full text collections accessible to researchers. This aggregation of content from the world’s leading specialized publishers gives users access to comprehensive scientific and technical literature collections, as well as a broad range of news and trade content covering every industry segment. In addition, ProQuest Dialog offers the largest collection of both full text and specialized patent databases on the market.

One unified interface offers search modes for all types of searches, including basic search, advanced search, command line, and citation/patent number lookup search forms. Advanced and Command line search forms support complex multi-set strategies.

Customized reporting with formats, fields and branding options are available for post-processing needs, including RTF/PDF/HTML/TXT reports, XLS exports for further data manipulation projects in Microsoft Excel, export formats for various reference management products, XML for other post-processing purposes, and more.

ProQuest Dialog offers free search time and unique and flexible pricing models, including both transactional and subscription plans. ProQuest Dialog Product Page

Latest News on Major Databases Launches/Updates

Latest ProQuest Dialog Release - Sept 2017: Tablebase, Excel Enhancements, Single Sign On, and More

The latest ProQuest Dialog release went live on Thursday, September 28 – and we’re pleased to announce the following key enhancements.


New database: Tablebase®

TableBase is now available on ProQuest Dialog.

Published by Gale, Tablebase is a popular database that specializes exclusively in tabular data on companies, industries, products and demographics. International in scope and covering more than 90 industries, TableBase gives users access to thousands of tables that are indispensable to daily research. It’s a great resource for specific statistical data – for example, “Latin America’s cosmetic sales by category” or “average starting salaries of U.S. public school teachers.”

Tablebase is available both by subscription and on pay-as-you-go accounts. If you’re a subscriber, contact your account manager or our customer experience team for access. If you have a pay-as-you-go account, you can start using Tablebase today. You can find out more about Tablebase on our ProSheet.


Microsoft Excel output enhancements

We’ve made a number of additional enhancements to our Microsoft Excel output capabilities, including:

  • Updated columns and indexing for BIOSIS Previews® and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Professional
  • New options for ordering column headings
  • Improved Excel output workflows for both patents and general databases

You can find more details and screen shots here.


Single Sign On is now available

Single Sign On (SSO) allows a user to access multiple systems while using only a single set of credentials – for example, if you log into Gmail, you can also access your YouTube account without logging in again. Now, SSO can be configured for ProQuest Dialog, making access seamless for users across your organization.

Requirements for SSO include:

  • SAML 2.0
  • My Research accounts must be set up on ProQuest Dialog for each user
  • Users must be authenticated on the customer’s network/access management platform

If your account meets these requirements and you would like to activate SSO on ProQuest Dialog, please contact your account manager or our customer experience team to begin the process.


Enhancements to ABI/INFORM Professional Market Research

The ABI/INFORM Professional Market Research database on ProQuest Dialog now includes reports from five new publishers, doubling the size of the database to about 750,000 records.*  The publishers include:

  • Barnes Reports
  • Mergent
  • Oxford Analytica
  • Oxford Economics
  • Progressive Digital Media

Existing subscribers have been given automatic access to this new data. You can find out more about ABI/INFORM Professional Market Research on our ProSheet.

*released on September 25


Transition from HTTP to HTTPS

The ProQuest Dialog platform has moved from HTTP to HTTPS to strengthen the privacy and security of your information. This news was communicated to customers last month, but as a reminder, organizations that use proxies to access ProQuest Dialog will need to update links and certificates to support HTTPS.

This support article shows how to complete changes in proxy servers and provides answers to common questions. Even if you don't use proxies, you'll want to review and convert links to ProQuest Dialog content to their HTTPS versions.


If you have any questions about any of these these changes, please contact your account manager or our customer experience team at customer@dialog.com.

ProQuest Dialog Support

Dialog Support Center

Contact:

  • customer@dialog.com
  • 1-800-3DIALOG (1-800-334-2564)

ProQuest Dialog Twitter

Facebook

Like ProQuest Dialog on Facebook for news, tips and videos.