Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

California K-12: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the California K-12 LibGuide! In this guide, you'll find materials that support the ProQuest resources available to you through the K-12 Online Content Project from the California State Library. 

Navigation

Need set up or technical support? Start here!

Teachers & Librarians: Learn more about the resources best suited for Elementary, Middle, and High Schools.

Students & Parents: Access the resources here!

Support

Training and Consulting Partner:
Lindsey Skaggs

Customer Experience Manager:
John Ward

Link to Customer Support 

Updates / News

October 8, 2019: Do you have ideas on how improve CultureGrams? Or wish something was included that isn't? We want to hear your feedback! Post suggestions or vote up an existing suggestion on our Idea Exchange page: https://ideas.proquest.com/forums/924847-culturegrams

September 26, 2019: Public webinars on CultureGrams and SIRS Issues Researcher have been scheduled for October! Register here!

This fall we're going on the road with our friends from Encylcopaedia Britannica and TeachingBooks.net! Click here to find out more about roadshow events taking place in September, October, and November!

August 1, 2019: SIRS Discoverer and SIRS Issues Researcher are now available alongside eLibrary at https://explore.proquest.com! More information about the SIRS migration is available here

Resource Overview

The following resources are available through the K-12 Online Content Project. Click the image to access the product! (NOTE: You will need to be IP authenticated.) More information about these resources is available on the sub-pages for Elementary, Middle, and High Schools.

CultureGrams Access Link

Culturegrams™ is an online resource of reports on 209 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. Reports contain information on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people, as well as audio, video, images, maps, infographics, and classroom exercises. The content is written at a range of reading levels to support a variety of users.


SIRS Discoverer Access Link

SIRS Discoverer is a general reference database providing safe, reliable, curriculum-aligned content and features for use by students and educators in Primary and early Secondary schools. All content is hand selected and indexed from over 2,100+ reliable high-quality sources. High interest, relevant non-fiction newspaper and magazine articles, as well as graphs, tables and political cartoons are all easily accessible  through easy-to-follow search and browse options.


SIRS Issues Researcher Access Link

SIRS Issues Researcher delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information that tells the whole story on the major questions of the day. Go in depth into any one of 345+ critical, current, and enduring social issues. Analyses and opinions hand selected from thousands of national and international sources such as newspaper & magazine articles, videos, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents.


eLibrary Access Link

eLibrary delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files.


ProQuest Central Student Access Link

ProQuest Central Student is designed to bring instant results to users across thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, reports, and other types of content. This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news.


Schools and Educators Complete Access Link

Schools and Educators Complete™ includes ebooks from publishers such as ALA Editions, ASCD, and the National Science Teacher Association. The collection includes a growing selection of over 12,000 titles with unlimited access and a wealth of information in professional development and training resources. Almost 4,500 titles in the database have relevance to state, national or provincial curriculum standards, with coverage of all Common Core subjects.

Note: Each district has their own distinct URL for log in. Please check with your school library/media contact for access.


Research Companion Access Link

ProQuest Research Companion is an intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and educators to focus on teaching the more complex research and writing principles.


For history and a short overview of all products, check out this webinar!