Skip to Main Content

ProQuest One Global Studies & International Relations

ProQuest One Global Studies & International Relations

ProQuest One Global Studies & International Relations offers extensive resources on global and social issues, including security, migration, environmental change, and social movements in both historical and contemporary contexts. ​ ​

The collection includes the 2 following components:

  • Global & International Studies Collection
  • Digital National Security Archive (U.S. DNSA)

 

Key features: ​ 

  • Multi-format primary sources, including declassified government documents, archival materials, periodicals, magazines, news scripts, and multi-media video footage, supported by secondary contextual resources.​ 

  • Supports users examining both historical and contemporary global topics, key topics such as global security, migration, environmental change, and social movements.​ 

  • Promotes interdisciplinary study from transnational and comparative perspectives in sociology, law, political science, international relations, economics and business.​​​​​​​

Content types include extensive resources to support Global Studies and International Relations. There are comprehensive primary and secondary materials available that cover global issues, social movements, ethnicity, culture and history:

  • Scholarly journals - 260+ academic journals contribute peer-reviewed resources across disciplines including sociology, economics, and political science
  • Multimedia Content - 2250 video titles including documentaries, interviews, and lectures, offering compelling insights into cultural, political, and historical topics
  • Historical Archival Documents - 5Mil+ pages of primary and secondary materials including historical documents, archival materials, government records, and reference materials
  • News and Media Collections - over six decades of archival broadcast transcripts and historical audio recordings capture pivotal current events, social issues, and political movements
  • Periodicals and Magazines - 670 periodicals and magazines that focus on ethnicity, culture, and social issues, supporting comparative research on underrepresented communities
  • Thematic Collections - 95 curated collections cover specific social, political, and cultural issues like global trade, borders and migration, human rights and disability

The content has been organized to allow users to find information faster and explore topics more deeply.

Global & International Studies Collection

Global & International Studies Collection consists of 29 distinct databases:

Digital National Security Archive (U.S. DNSA)

Digital National Security Archive (U.S. DNSA) consists of 65 complete modules (with more two added annually) that are under Digital National Security Archive.

ProQuest, in partnership with The National Security Archive, produce the Digital National Security Archive, the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Collections cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century, providing unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time with more than 150,000 indexed, declassified government documents; many are published now for the first time.

More info available on the product information page

 

DNSA Components:

  1. Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
  2. The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
  3. China and the U.S.: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
  4. Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
  5. El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
  6. El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
  7. Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
  8. The Iran–Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
  9. Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
  10. Japan and the U.S.: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
  11. Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
  12. The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
  13. Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
  14. South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
  15. The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
  16. U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
  17. U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
  18. U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
  19. U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
  20. U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy, 1945–1991
  21. Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
  22. Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
  23. U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954–1968
  24. Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the U.S., 1954–1999
  25. U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969–1975
  26. Japan and the U.S.: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
  27. The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
  28. Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
  29. U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
  30. The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
  31. Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980–2000
  32. U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
  33. The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945–2009
  34. U.S. and the Two Koreas, Part I, 1969–2000
  35. Colombia and the U.S.: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948–2010
  36. U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
  37. Chile and the U.S.: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
  38. Japan and the U.S.: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1961–2000
  39. Argentina, 1975–1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights
  40. CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977–2010
  41. Mexico–United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969–2013
  42. U.S. and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969–2010
  43. The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
  44. Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
  45. CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
  46. U.S. Nuclear History, 1969–1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
  47. The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
  48. President’s Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961–1969
  49. Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997–2004
  50. Cuba and the U.S.: The Declassified History of Negotiations to Normalize Relations, 1959–2016
  51. CIA Covert Operations III: From Kennedy to Nixon, 1961–1974
  52. Soviet–U.S. Relations: The End of the Cold War, 1985–1991
  53. U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation 2, Part I: From Atoms for Peace to the NPT, 1954–1968
  54. U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978–2015
  55. The President’s Daily Brief: Nixon, Ford, and the CIA, 1969–1977
  56. Donald Rumsfeld’s Snowflakes, Part I: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2001–2003
  57. Donald Rumsfeld’s Snowflakes, Part II: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2004–2006
  58. CIA Covert Operations, Part IV: The Eisenhower Years, 1953–1961
  59. U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981–2015
  60. Afghanistan War and the United States, 1998–2017
  61. Targeting Iraq, Part II: War and Occupation, 2004–2011
  62. U.S. Foreign Policy in the Carter Years, 1977–1981: Highest-Level Memos to the President
  63. U.S.–Russia Relations: From the Fall of the Soviet Union to the Rise of Putin, 1991–2000
  64. The CIA and the Behavioral Sciences: Mind Control, Drug Experiments and MKULTRA
  65. U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation 2, Part II: The Nixon–Ford Years, 1969–1977

ProQuest
Terms of Use/Copyright
Product accessibility
Privacy Policy