Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global 

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global offers access to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637 to the present day together with over 2.7 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 200,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.  Millions of titles are available for purchase.

For more information about the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, navigate to the Content Page. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global resides on the ProQuest Platform. For more information about the ProQuest Platform click here.


ProQuest Dissertations eLearning Companions

The Dissertations Bootcamp eLearning Modules are a free resource that help support graduate student planning, writing, and research.


E-Learning Modules

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Librarian

Intended Audience: Librarians who want to learn how to use the database's advanced search support subject area research.

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how librarians can use the database to support subject research at their institution.

Duration: 2 minutes


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, searching Titles and Languages

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how students can use the database's advanced search to identify known dissertations by title and search/analyze by languages other than English. Objectives of the module are:

  • Perform searches by title to quickly locate known dissertations
  • Search for alternate titles in non-English languages
  • Refine results and analyze dissertations in specific languages

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD. Duration: 3 minutes.


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, searching Names

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how students can use the database's advanced search to identify dissertations of known Authors or Advisors and further refine/analyze them. Objectives of the module are:

  • Perform searches by Author name to find known dissertations
  • Discover Advisors that may have reviewed dissertations relevant to your research field
  • Use the Look up list to identify names with unknown spellings

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD. Duration: 4 minutes


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, Cited References

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how students can use the dissertations to retrieve and explore further the Cited References. Objectives of the module are:

  • Locate other dissertations and other material relevant to your research by looking at the dissertations’ cited references.
  • Locate dissertations with references citing a specific author, article or publication

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD. Duration: 4 minutes


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, Supplemental Files

Description and Objectives:  This session reviews how students can identify dissertations with Supplemental files which may contain useful materials for their graduate work. Objectives of the module are:

  • Locate other material and digital files relevant to your research by looking at the dissertations’ supplemental files.
  • Locate dissertations on a certain topic including Supplemental files of any type, that authors have used to support their graduate work.

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD. Duration: 3.5 minutes


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for the Student, Subject Searching

Description and Objectives:  This session will show some Search techniques both Basic and Advanced to locate dissertations on a certain topic. Objectives of the module are:

  • Perform easy basic searches to find dissertations about a given topic
  • Use the Subject related fields to build more effective searches about the topic
  • Evaluate and apply different types of search features in order to retrieve targeted and comprehensive results

Intended Audience: Students both Masters or PhD. Duration: 5.5 minutes