The Performing Arts Periodicals Database (PAD) – formerly International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA + IIPA Full Text) – is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community.
PAD indexes around 640 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. Almost 300 publications are included in full text.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database can be cross-searched along with the Music Periodicals Database in the encompassing Music & Performing Arts Collection. Consult the Music & Performing Arts Collection LibGuide for more information.
Including both abstract/indexed and full text publications, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database (PAP - formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) offers access to over 640 performing arts periodicals, of which almost 300 are full text. Coverage is mostly from 1998 onward, but also retrospective access us provided to many selected titles – some all the way back to their inception, including Journal of Popular Film & Television and Performing Arts Resources.
The database currently includes over 1,900,000 records, the majority of which index articles from 1998 onwards. Around 160,000 records in PAP are from the backfile (up to 1997) and much of this coverage, for over 10 publications, commences at the first issue of the journal run, and goes as back as 1864.
Main features:
Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers the broadest range of journals – both scholarly and popular – and combines the highest-quality indexing with a superior search engine and interface. This broad journal coverage enables both graduate and undergraduate level research, as well as query handling in the public library setting.
