Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

In this page we will show the unique search features for ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. Go to the Platform LibGuide for a complete guide to ProQuest's search and display features.

Specialized Thesauri

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts provides indexing for aquatic science journals and provides the Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Thesaurus and Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary) as search engines for locating distinct topical content through these controlled vocabularies.

To access, click the Thesaurus link above the search fields in Advanced Search.

Link to Thesaurus above Advanced Search box

You will have a choice of either the Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Thesaurus or the Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary). The Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Thesaurus includes subject terms from across the field of aquatic science. Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary) is specifically focused on the Latin names of organisms. Choose the one that is most relevant to your search needs.

List of Thesauri in Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)

Use the alphanumerical options to browse available terms, or search for a term.

Search results for Shrimp in ASFA Thesaurus

Selecting an entry may show related terms, broader or narrower terms or a notes icon, which will provide more information on using the term.

Within the Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Thesaurus, you may select the checkbox for Explode, which will include all narrower terms to your selected term in the search.  Then you may click Add to search. (Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary) does not include an Explode option.)

Entry for Shrimp fisheries in ASFA Thesaurus