Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Content

Overwhelmingly cited by a majority of aquatic science librarians as their primary database, ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

Topics covered in ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts include:

  • Aquaculture
  • Aquatic organisms
  • Aquatic pollution
  • Brackish water environments
  • Conservation
  • Environmental quality
  • Fisheries
  • Freshwater environments
  • Inland water environment
  • Marine biotechnology
  • Marine environments
  • Meteorology
  • Oceanography
  • Policy and legislation
  • Wildlife management

 

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts is the principal component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), an international cooperative information system for the collection and dissemination of information covering the science, technology and management of marine, brackish water, and freshwater environments.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts is produced under auspices of the ASFA Partnership, a network that includes four United Nations sponsoring agencies and more than 60 international and national partners, each tasked with reviewing and indexing the aquatic literature published in their region. For over 30 years, ASFA has been published and distributed worldwide under a cooperative agreement between ProQuest and the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

Although primarily English language, publications in over 40 other languages are translated and indexed for inclusion. 

Collection Information

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts includes the five ASFA-specific subfiles, as well as complementary access to Oceanic Abstracts:

  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
  • Oceanic Abstracts

Note: These databases can also be searched on their own. This LibGuide focuses on the search features and content available in ASFA.