Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early European Books (EEB)



Field Name Label Search Examples & Explanation
 Accession/Bibliographic Number  AN

BIBNO
BIBNO(LN 356)

Alphanumeric entry referencing the bibliographic repertoires adopted by the contributing libraries – see the Bibliographic references list in the Additional Resources box to view complete references to abbreviations in the bibliographic name/number field
 Alternate Title OTI OTI(Epistul*)

Generally taken from the library catalogue, and might include short titles, translated titles and uniform titles, e.g.: Epistolæ astronomicæ.
 Author AU AU(Galilei, Galileo)       AU(Galileo Galilei)

The Author field covers names of authors, editors, publishers, companies and performers. Personal names can be entered either forename followed by surname or surname, forename. Author names are standardized by using the Library of Congress name form as an authority form.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line and the list in Browse can be used to browse and select names from the index. When selecting from a list of names, the names of people are listed in the format: surname, forename. 
 Country of Publication CP CP(Germany)

Search records by the country in which the work in question was printed/published. See list of covered countries in the box on the left.

The list in Browse can be used to browse and select countries from the index.
 Document Notes NT NT(8vo)

This field contains miscellaneous information. It mostly points out details specific to the copy in question (torn pages, fingerprints, wear and tear, anomalies or eccentricities in its presentation). It also might occasionally include some provenance information or detailed Incipit and Explicit information.  It also includes Physical description (8vo or Octavo) and Pagination.

(Incipit and Explicit – medieval manuscripts usually began with the word “Incipit” (“Here begins…”), often in rubricated text. So too did the beginning of each chapter or division contained within that manuscript. Similarly, these manuscripts and their constituent chapter endings would finish with the word “Explicit” (“Here ends…”). Some early modern texts continued this tradition, and use of these terms also found its way into library annotation).
 Document Feature  DF DF.exact("Illuminated Lettering")

Document Feature search allows users to find documents that contain examples of 18 different kinds of special feature (find the list and related definitions here). e.g. Coat of arms; Illuminated lettering; Portrait – value add indexing added by ProQuest as part of the digitization.

The Document Feature box in Advanced Search can be used to browse and select definitions from the list.
 Document Type DTYPE  DTYPE(BOOK)

 All the documents in the databases are of the same type: Book.
 Document Title TI TI(Fideles)

The title is transcribed directly from the title page of the print volume, e.g. Tychonis Brahe Dani Epistolarvm astronomicarvm libri, quorum primvs hic illvstriss: et lavdatiss: principis Gvlielmi Hassiae landtgravii ac ipsius Mathematici literas, vnaq; Responsa ad singulas complectitur.

This is supplemented by the Alternative Title field.
 Language  LA LA(LATIN)

ProQuest adds this information where it’s not present in the library catalogue record.

The Language box in Advanced Search and the list in Browse can be used to browse and select languages from the index.
 Place of Publication PUBCITY PUBCITY(Aachen)

Use Place of publication to retrieve documents published from a specific location. Terms are harmonized based on the CERL Thesaurus. The harmonized term will retrieve texts with all the historic variants of the name. See an example of variants in the box on the left.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names from the index.
 Publisher PB PB(Elsevier*)     PB(Manuzio)

Use Printer/publisher name to retrieve documents published by a specific printer or publisher.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names from the index.
 Publication Year PY

YR
PY(1457)     YR(1664-1699)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years.

Early European Books limits itself to providing high-resolution images of items printed before 1701. However, some of the sources upon which it is based associate pre-1701 imprints with later items, and in a number of cases it has been found necessary to capture later material in order to provide the fullest possible access to the pre-1701 printed record. So there may be documents dated later than 1701.  The earliest publication date is approximately 1450, the approximate date of the first European printed books. Please note that the earliest publication date in your search results will vary depending on which collection(s) you have access to.
 Source Library SIN SIN(Nederland)

The contributing libraries are currently 5: the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Wellcome Library in London. The list of source libraries displayed will vary depending on which collection(s) you have access to.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select names of the Source Libraries from the index.
 Source Type STYPE Stype(books)

All the documents in the databases are from the same source type: Books.
 Subject Headings (All) MAINSUBJECT Mainsubject.Exact("art forms")

The 'subject' search enables researchers to select from a list of terms provided by the 5 different source libraries, presented as one integrated list of terms.
We retain the source library’s subject indexing where this is available.
The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select terms from the index.
 Subject SU SU(ART)

The subject field will encompass search in the Mainsubject and USTC subject classification fields
 USTC subject classification USTC USTC.Exact("Art and architecture")

The Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. USTC subject classifications have been added to Early European Books records, adding a further searchable component to the collection.

There are 38 subject categories. These are a standardized version of the USTC classification scheme. See the detailed description of each term here.

The LookUp list in Advanced Search or Command Line can be used to browse and select terms from the index.